All-GWAC Basketball teams released


Scott City, Kan. (–With the 2016-17 basketball season less than a week finished, the Great West Activities Conference has released their all-league teams on the boys and girls side.

On the girls side, Hugoton had five players selected, with three on the first team, while Goodland, Scott City and Ulysses had three each and Goodland and Colby had two selections. Hugoton won the GWAC for the third straight season, and finished the season at 26-0, and Class 3A State Champions, while Scott City finished second in the league standings and place fourth in Class 4A, Division II.

Over to the boys, where Holcomb landed two on the first team, and have five overall selections. Hugoton, Scott City and Ulysses had three selections each, and Colby and Goodland had one representative. Holcomb won the GWAC and finished as Class 4A, Division II State Champions, while Hugoton and Ulysses tied for second place. Hugoton was a state qualifier in Class 3A.

First Team
Margaux Thompson, Goodland; Katy Heger, Dallie Hoskinson & Amy Scott, Hugoton; Macie Price, Scott City

Second Team
Hallie Vaughn, Colby; Kaitlyn Daise, Goodland; Sydney Hein, Hugoton; Eboni Sapien, Holcomb; Gina Ballesteros, Ulysses

Honorable Mention
Bailey Foss, Colby; Ellee McDaniel, Goodland; JoHanna Rawlins, Hugoton; Zoe Engler, Holcomb; Bailey Latta & Emily Smith, Scott City; Alyssa Castilleja & Riley Oglevie, Ulysses

First Team
Trey Gilbert & Conner VanCleave, Holcomb; Zack Leininger, Hugoton; Bo Hess, Scott City; Zach Zerr, Ulysses

Second Team
Brooks Curry, Colby; Wene Hendrich, Goodland; Tony Kinser & Colby Korf, Hugoton; Jordan Horn, Scott City

Honorable Mention
Kobe Dickson, Michael Roth & Brandon Stegman, Holcomb; Drew Duff, Scott City; Tre Pauda & Abraham Romero, Ulysses

Comment Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the comments section of are solely those of the comment author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by

Comments are closed.