Scott City wrestling takes home Pratt Invitational title


Pratt, Kan. (–For the first time in seven years, the Scott City wrestling team returned to the Pratt Invitational wrestling tournament in hopes to see more Class 4A schools. While they thought they would be Class 4A when setting up the schedule, the Beavers saw teams that will also be in the Class 3-2-1A classification at the tournament. When the dust was settled, Scott City found themselves as the top team, edging Augusta in the team standings. Ulysses finished seventh as a team, and Holcomb was 11th.

The Beavers had four tournament champions, and placed six wrestlers overall. Justus McDaniel at 126, Kaden Wren at 132, Jarret Jurgens at 160 and Wyatt Hayes at 170 took home gold medals for Scott City. Jurgens was also voted the tournaments Outstanding Wrestler.

One other area wrestler took home a tournament title. Holcomb’s Chance Rodriguez won the title at 182.

Team Scores
Scott City 151.5, Augusta 147, Pratt 137.5, Hoisington 115, Goddard-Eisenhower 109, Andale 88, Ulysses 86, Liberal 79, Wichita Northwest 71, Nickerson 61, Holcomb 57.5, Chaparral 57, Buhler 48, Stafford 0

Championship: Gabe Fox, Augusta, won by dec over Caleb Pavlacka, Andale, 3-1
3rd Place: Nichole Moore, Nickerson, won by fall over Israel Garza, Eisenhower, 2:41

Championship: Gage Cooper, Nickerson, won by maj dec over Jaden Laing, Augusta, 12-4
3rd Place: Hector Serratos, Andale, won by dec over Corbyn Pauda, Ulysses, 5-3

Championship: Seth Doud, Eisenhower, won by fall over Dominic Eddie, Ulysses, 4:43
3rd Place: Dylan Cox, Pratt, won by dec over Brian Escobar, Chaparral, 5-1

Championship: Justus McDaniel, Scott City, won by dec over Adam Whitson, Buhler, 4-2
3rd Place: Andrew Payne, Andale, won by fall over Camdon Nickelson, Pratt, 2:16

Championship: Kaden Wren, Scott City, won by dec over John George, Augusta, 6-0
3rd Place: Collin Pavlacka, Andale, won by fall over Juan Urbina, Ulysses, 4:20

Championship: Avin George, Augusta, won by dec over Tanner Cassity, Hoisington , 9-7
3rd Place: Theron Tucker, Scott City, won by fall over Jason Wagoner, Wichita Northwest, 4:23

Championship: Dayne Holmgren, Eisenhower, won by dec over Haldo Escobar, Chaparral, 6-0
3rd Place: Alonso Martinez, Ulysses, won by fall over Emanuel Rivero, Liberal, 4:36

Championship: Joshua Ball, Hoisington, won by fall over Dylan Stewert, Nickerson, 1:44
3rd Place: Dalton Johnson, Buhler, won by dec over Carlos Mora, Liberal, 8-5

Championship: Jarret Jurgens, Scott City, won by technical fall over Carson Wheeler, Eisenhower, 15-0
3rd Place: Joshua Ball, Hoisington, won by fall over Dylan Stewert, Nickerson, 1:44

Championship: Wyatt Hayes Scott City, won by dec over Sean Urban, Hoisington, 5-0
3rd Place: Tanner Johnson, Holcomb, won by fall over Chandler Eaton, Nickerson, 1:36

Championship: Chance Rodriguez, Holcomb, won by maj dec over Wyatt Pedigo, Hoisington, 12-0
3rd Place: Justin Lamatsch, Pratt, won by fall over Jared Pytel, Augusta, 4:08

Championship: Edgar Bautista, Liberal, won by fall over Garrett Bridwell, Wichita Northwest, 5:05
3rd Place: Hunter Huber, Pratt, won by default over Kyle Sherwood, Scott City (Sherwood wrestled max amount of five matches)

Championship: Cole Edwards, Augusta, won by fall over Adrian Gerber, Chaparral, 4:39
3rd Place: Sevren Hance, Pratt, won by dec over Lj Flax, Eisenhower High School, 8-4

Championship: Marcus Hicks, Wichita Northwest, won by dec over Raiden Kohman, Pratt, 7-2
3rd Place: Elwin Trejo, Liberal, won by dec over Kendal Davis, Augusta, 8-7

Comment Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in the comments section of are solely those of the comment author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by

Comments are closed.

National News

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

National Sports

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.