February 28, 2024

Jayhawk Conference Basketball Will Change to Three Divisions Next Season


Garden City, KS – The Jayhawk Conference will have a new look next year for basketball after college presidents approved a change that will split the 19 community colleges into three divisions next season. Starting in 2013-2014, there will be a West, East and East Division II.

In the new alignment, Butler Community College will move from the West to the East, while Highland, Johnson County, Kansas City and Fort Scott form the new East Division II. The realignment process started this year when Fort Scott and Kansas City announced their intention to move from NJCAA Division I to Division II which meant that four teams in the East would be playing at the Division II level.

The West will now have eight teams including Barton, Hutchinson, Pratt, Cloud County, Dodge City, Garden City, Colby and Seward County. The East will be made up of seven teams including Butler, Coffeyville, Cowley, Independence, Allen, Labette, and Neosho County. Northwest Tech will remain an independent in Division I basketball and will be seeded on the East, meaning the current post season format will remain in place.

Leave a Reply