July 15, 2024

Buffalo wrestlers take J.R. Durham Inviatational


Norton, Kan. (westernkansasnews.com)–A couple of firsts happened on Saturday for the Garden City Buffalo wrestlers at the J.R. Durham Invitational in Norton. They were competing in the tournament for the first time, and they also won their first tournament of the year, over the defending tournament champion Norton Blue Jays. The Buffaloes maintained a slim lead throughout the afternoon portion of the tournament, and pulled away in the final round, and won by an impressive 36.5-point margin over the host school. Garden City had five individual champions and three more place second. Overall, the Buffaloes placed 11. Ulysses placed four in Norton, and had two finish in second place. Scott City placed three wrestlers, with Warren Kropp taking the title at 170 pounds. Cimarron had one place, and took home the top spot at 285 with Zach Crick.

Oakley finished in third, followed by Cozad, Ne in fourth and Beloit rounding out the top five. Ulysses took home eighth, Scott City 10th, Cimarron 11th and Tribune 14th.

 Team Scores

Garden City 187, Norton 149.5, Oakley 87, Cozad, NE 85, Beloit 75, McCook, NE 74, Smith Center 70, Ulysses 67.5,  Atwood 60.5, Scott City 46.5, Cimarron 40, TMP-Marian 33.5, Hoxie 29, Norton (2) 14, Tribune-Greeley County 4



1st: Efrain Sanchez, Garden City, won by fall over Caysean Campbell, Norton 1:20

3rd: Skylar Johnson, Norton 2, won by fall over Auston Holzmeister, Oakley 1:54


1st: Michael Prieto, Garden City, won by fall over Kade Unterseher, Norton :56

3rd: Tucker Rhoades, TMP-Marian, won by fall over Reilly Ritter, Oakley 4:07


1st: Tristan Porsch, Hoxie, won by dec over Ethan Ross, Norton 6-2

3rd: Ricky Hockett, TMP-Marian, won by dec over Hunter Leibbrandt, Atwood 8-7


1st: Macrae Migchelbrink, Atwood, won by dec over Jacob Hoffman, Cozad 4-0

3rd: Cale Rogers, Smith Center, won by fall over Daniel Law, Ulysses 1:31


1st: Brian Messersmith, Cozad, won by maj dec over Wyatt Murphy, Oakley 9-7

3rd: Alec Castillo, Garden City, won by dec over Mario Rodriguez, Ulysses 4-2


1st: Tevin Briscoe, Garden City, won by dec over Clay Trejo, Cozad 2-1

3rd: Alec Hager, Norton, won by fall over Taylor Murphy, Oakley 3:27


1st: Chris Adler, Garden City, won by maj dec over Jared Tallent, Norton 10-2

3rd: Tyler Watts, Beloit, won by dec over Wyatt Kropp, Scott City 9-5


1st: Clint Rogers, Smith Center, won by dec over Jesse Nunez, Garden City 6-2

3rd: Tanner Niemczyk, Beloit, won by dec over Mike Kasson, Norton 4-2


1st: Bowe Behymer, Beloit, won by fall over Kendall Miller, Norton 5:38

3rd: Grant Lambert, Smith Center, won by fall over Isac Goytia, Garden City :38


1st: Warren Kropp, Scott City, won by maj dec over Dalton Langham, Beloit 13-1

3rd: Cole Renner, Norton, won by fall over Matt Marez, Garden City 3:21


(Round Robin) 1st: Jaret Mason, McCook; 2nd: Tye Hahn, Garden City, 3rd: Cody Wright, Atwood, 4th: Tre Stewart, Scott City


(Round Robin) 1st: Sam Reyes, Garden City, 2nd: Diego Maravila, Ulysses, 3rd: Dakota McBride, McCook, 4th: Hank Pflaster, Cozad


1st: Alex Boryca, Cozad, won by fall over Otto Orosco, Ulysses 3:16

3rd: Jacob Green, Norton, won by inj def over Dylan Gassmann, Oakley


1st: Zach Crick, Cimarron, won by fall over Aaron Lozano, Garden City 3:27

3rd: Mason Rains, Oakley, won by fall over Dalton Goodenberger, McCook 1:35

Outstanding Wrestler

Tevin Briscoe, Garden City, 138 pounds

Leave a Reply