February 27, 2024

Holton repeats as 4A State Champions; Four area wrestlers place


Salina, Kan. (westernkansasnews.com)–Four area wrestlers took home a medal this weekend at the Class 4A State Wrestling Tournament at the Salina BiCentennial Center. One wrestler was able to claim gold in Otto Orosco of Ulysses at 220. Scott City’s Warren Kropp took third place at 170 and winning fifth place matches were Zach Miller for Ulysses at 120 and Hugoton’s Bradley Campbell at 195. Holton repeated as team champions, and Ulysses finished in the top 10 in eighth place. 

Team Scores
Holton 114, Chanute 76, Smoky Valley 72, Prairie View 62, Colby 61.5, Columbus 53, Andale 51, Pratt 50.5, Ulysses 49, Bonner Springs 48, Buhler 48, El Dorado 48, Tonganoxie 48, Augusta 46, Andover Central 45, Spring Hill 43, KC-Sumner Academy 42, Fort Scott 40.5, Mulvane 39.5, Abilene 38.5, Goodland 33, Basehor-Linwood 32, Jefferson West 32, Ottawa 31, Baldwin 30, Concordia 30, Clearwater 29.5, Paola 24, Wellington 24, Winfield 23.5, Atchison 22, DeSoto 20.5, Wamego 19, Burlington 18, Rose Hill 18, Royal Valley 18, Independence 17, Iola 16.5, Hugoton 15, Russell 14, Scott City 14, Osawatomie 10, Clay Center 10, Santa Fe Trail 10, Anderson County 8.5, Chapman 7, KC-Piper 4, Bishop Miege 4, Larned 4, Parsons 3, Perry Lecompton 2, Frontenac 1, McPherson 1, Coffeyville-Field Kinley 0, Bishop Ward 0, Bishop Miege 0, Circle 0

106: Corbin Nirschl, Basehor-Linwood, won by maj dec over Tate Carney, Colby 18-7
113: Josiah Seaton, Bonner Springs, won by fall over Trae Foreman, Pratt 5:19
120: Cesar Regalado, Pratt, won by dec over Anthony Scantlin, Mulvane 2-1
126: Donte Boose, Sumner Academy, won by dec over Caysen Smith, Abilene 8-3
132: Trevor Smith, Winfield, won by maj dec over Dakota Motter, El Dorado 11-2
138: Tyler Mies, Andale, won by dec over Jake Wilson, Rose Hill 5-3
145: Jacob Durossette, Fort Scott, won by dec over Kaleb Konitzer, Prairie View 3:37
152: Lucas Lovvorn, Holton, won by dec over Asher Huserman, Tonganoxie 5-0
160: Taylor Watkins, Columbus, won by dec over Andrew Rieschick, Holton 5-3
170: Austin Cook, Smoky Valley, won by dec over Tyler Harris, Atchison 8-4
182: Jace McDown, Columbus, won by dec over Andrew Taylor, Colby 5-2
195: Dalton Weidl, Ottawa, won by dec over Skyler Hittle, Concordia 6-2
220: Otto Orosco, Ulysses, won by dec over Jon Yates, Buhler, 5-1
285: Justin Scott, Jefferson West, won by fall over Cooper Zeller, Holton :54

3rd Place
106: Emmanuel Browne, Sumner Academy, won by dec over Bryce Garcia, Andale 6-2
113: Jake Goldenstein, Augusta, won by fall over Nick Ornelas, Chanute :42
120: Curtis Burnett, Independence, won by dec over DJ Ballard, Bonner Springs 6-2
126: Dalton Carley, Wamego, won by inj def over Reno Hughey, El Dorado
132: Adam Cole, Chanute, won by fall over Clayton Himpel, Tonganoxie :23
138: Connor Penka, Mulvane, won by dec over Tucker Clark, Baldwin 6-4
145: Brady Vogel, Chanute, won by dec over Jon Pratt, Baldwin 3-2 
152: Paul Suhr, Andover Central, won by dec over Scott Whitson, Buhler 11-6
160: John Hughes, Fort Scott, won by dec over John Peden, Goodland 4-3
170: Warren Kropp, Scott City, won by dec over Blake Hampton, Spring Hill 3-2
182: Spencer Bird, Smoky Valley, won by dec over Darick Jones, Clearwater 2-1
195: Brice Misenhelter, Iola, won by dec over Dylan Thompson, Spring Hill 2-0
220: Austin Hart, Colby, won by dec over Chandler Carter, DeSoto 3-1 OT
285: Brix Brickey, Smoky Valley, won by fall over Kainon Clark, Fort Scott 2:11

5th Place
106: Tyler Flood, Paola, won by maj dec over Tate Withington, Goodland 16-5
113: Case Pemberton, Prairie View, won by dec over Zach Eck, Andale 4-2
120: Zach Miller, Ulysses, won by dec over Tucker Schreiner, Jefferson West 4-2
126: Colby Johnson, Burlington, won by maj dec over Dakota Rodd, Andover Central 12-2
132: Jonah Lutz, Holton, won by fall over Dannon Brake, Prairie View 3:32 
138: Justin Risechick, Holton, wn by dec over Chase Prester, Russell 5-0
145: Andrew Pelkey, Wellington, won by inj def over Nic Augustin, Andover Central
152: Connor Patton, Paola, won by fall over Gage Armstrong, El Dorado 4:03
160: Curtis Rylant, Clearwater, won by fall over Colton Clayborn, Augusta 1:46
170: Mason Baum, Holton, won by dec over Chance Ogden, Royal Valley 3-0
182: Lee Kough, Anderson County, won by dec over Cordell Dunlop, Prairie View 6-2
195: Bradley Campbell, Hugoton, won by dec over Taylon Lamkin, Wellington 4-2
220: Zeke Kissinger, Tonganoxie, won by dec over Tanner Foulk, Osawatomie 1-0
285: Jason Zook, Chapman, won by inj def over Jordan Drybread, Chanute

Leave a Reply