July 13, 2024

Two Busters earn all KJCCC honors-Updated


Garden City, Kan (westernkansasnews.com)-Playing against nine older brothers when she was a kid, Shaqunna Collins never blinked. Those pickup games tested her character and her competitive drive to play the game. The end result is clear. 

On Tuesday, Collins and teammate Sandra Davis were named to the All-Kansas Jayhawk West second team. 

“I knew I could play this game,” Collins said. “I love the game, and I’m so glad I get to go out their with my teammates.”

Collins, who’s coming off a 24-point, 10 rebound performance against Labette on Saturday, leaders the Busters into today’s Region VI quarterfinals against rival Dodge City. 

Davis, who’s been up and down for most of the season, has already signed to play at the University of Houston next year. 

Coach of the Year-John Ontjes-Hutch

MVP-Tatoama Gramt-Pratt

Freshman of the year-Kalani Purcell-Hutch

1st team

Tatiana Grant-Pratt

Jamie Patrick-Hutch

Kalani Purcell-Hutch

Jordyn Alexander-Cloud

Shanise Brooks-Seward

2nd Team

Shaqunna Collins-Garden City

Jen’Von’Ta Hill-Hutch

Korina Chapman-Seward

Alana Simon-Seward

Cheyenne Hedrington-Barton

Honorable Mention

Jayna Smith-Cloud

Kesha Buckner-Dodge

Ashton Bruner-Barton

Kelli Tolar-Dodge City

Mariana Lambert-Barton

Sandra Davis-Garden City

Elle Stein-Pratt


1st Team

Kadeem Allen-Hutch

Niem Stevenson-Seward County

Coreontae Deberry-Hutch

Shaun Stewart-Cloud

Jeremiah Ingram-Colby

2nd Team

Kevin Allen-Pratt

Javis Flynn-Pratt

EJ Eaves-Dodge City

Tyler Corley-Barton

Secean Johnson-Seward County

Malcolm Hill-Bey-Seward County

Honorable Mentions

Robert Davis Pratt

Lorenzo Dillard-Cloud County

Brian Bridgeworth-Seward County

Jeremy Wilson-Garden City

Jade Cathy-Garden City

Darius Gibson-Barton County

Raheem Johnson-Barton County

Leave a Reply