June 13, 2024

All-WAC Selections (Audio)

The Western Athletic Conference released it’s all-conference selections on Monday. 

Two Garden City soccer players earning first-team honors: Seniors Erik Barragan and David Amaro. The duo helped lead the Buffaloes to the state quarterfinals. Barragan also set the single-season scoring record. 

Juniors Miguel Hernandez and Gilberto Tovar, along with senior Esteban Neave were named honorable mentions. 

Dodge City’s Isaac Palma was named to the first team alongside teammate Alejandro Tapia. Leonel Lopez was the player of the year. 


Three Buffaloes headlined the All-WAC first team. Running back Jared Koster, who led the WAC with 1,028 rushing yards, which included four 100-yd rushing games; wide receiver Caleb Tramp, who set the school record for receiving yards and center Humberto Perez, who transformed into arguably the best offensive lineman in the conference. 

On Defense, the conference leader in tackles Nalen Rincones and corner back Alex Espinosa garnering first-team honors. 

Dodge City’s Caden Walters, who fell just shy of breaking the school’s single-season passing record, was named to the first team, along with wide receiver Dayton McGroarty and kicker Sebastian Mejia. On defense, the Demons placing two on the first team: Dawson Davis and Steven Bartel. 

Hays quarterback Alex Delton was named player of the year. The Indians Bo Black was named coach of the year. 


Garden City junior Erika Schafer and sophomore Abbie Dart made the first team. Both players were instrumental in the Buffaloes second half turnaround, and were within striking distance of reaching the state tournament for the first time in a decade. 

Kyra Bellows and Erin Kuneyl were named honorable mentions. 

Macy Mock was the lone Lady Demon who made the first team. Jessica Harshberger was an honorable mention. Hays’ Albany Schaffer was the player of the year while the Lady Indians Christine Nunnery was coach of the year. 

Running back Jared Koster


Center Humberto Perez


Abbie Dart


Erika Schafer


Erik Barragan


David Amaro