June 12, 2024

Garden City takes J.R. Durham Invitational

Norton, Kan. (westernkansasnews.com)–For the second time in as many weekends, the Garden City Buffalo wrestling team claimed yet another tournament title. For the second straight year, the Buffaloes found themselves at the top of the standings at the J.R. Durham Invitational. Norton finished in second and Scott City had an impressive weekend by finishing third. Also, Cimarron was seventh, Holcomb 12th, Ulysses 15th and Greeley County was 16th. Garden City had five individual champions, while Cimarron, Greeley County and Scott City each had one champion. 

The tournament’s most outstanding wrestler was Garden City’s Michael Prieto.

Team Scores
Garden City 224.5, Norton 201, Scott City 141, Marion 96, Oakley 94.5, Smith Center 63, Cimarron 61, McCook, NE 58, Atwood 57, Beloit 49.5, Cozad, NE 49.5, Holcomb 39.5, Hoxie 34, St. Francis 31, Ulysses 26.5, Greeley County 26, TMP-Marian 25

Individual Results
Championship: Ryan Johnson, Norton, won by dec over Zach Tucker, Scott City 5-2
3rd: Estin Slack, Oakley, won by maj dec over Blayne Harris, Beloit 11-2

(Round Robin)
1. Kaj Perez, Garden City; 2. Skylar Johnson, Norton; 3. Jarrett Johnson, Marion; 4. Caden Emmot, Beloit

Championship: Sammy Guevara, Garden City, won by dec over Colton Hutchinson, Smith Center 5-4
3rd: Zak Anderson, Ulysses, won by maj dec over Rees Lehman, Oakley 11-3

Championship: Michael Prieto, Garden City, won by technical fall over David Hileman, Smith Center, 15-0
3rd: Joey McFee, Atwood, won by dec over Tucker Rhoades, TMP Marian 9-5

Championship: Tristan Porsch, Hoxie, won by dec over Jacob Hoffman, Cozad 5-1
3rd: Curtis Near, Garden City, won by dec over Trenton Wright, Norton 7-2

Championship: Caleb Austin, Greeley County, won by dec over Carter Wessling, Beloit 3-1
3rd: James Jurgens, Scott City, won by maj dec over Garrett Brunk, St. Francis 11-1

Championship: Tevin Briscoe, Garden City, won by dec over Brian Messersmith, Cozad 2-1
3rd: Jared Tallent, Norton, won by dec over Branson Sandovol, Cimarron 5-2

Championship: Mike Kasson, Norton, won by dec over Taylor Murphy, Oakley 4-2
3rd: Chance Rodriguez, Holcomb, won by dec over Quinton LaPointe, Garden City 4-0

Championship: Shelton McClain, Atwood, won by fall over Wyatt Kropp, Scott City 5:57
3rd: Brody Freiling, Smith Center, won by dec over Jesse Nunez, Garden City 4-2

(Round Robin)
1. Zac Finch, Garden City; 2. Kendall Miller, Norton; 3. Abe Wiebe, Scott City; 4. Eric Langan, McCook 

Championship: Gavin Lively, Norton, won by fall over Antonio Perez, Garden City 5:58
3rd: Adam Janzen, Marion, won by fall over Tre Stewart, Scott City 1:38

Championship: Cooper Griffith, Scott City, won by fall over Jaret Matson, McCook 1:03
3rd: Chris Cox, Oakley, won by dec over Jordan Dole, Norton 2-0 OT

Championship: AJ Cooper, Cimarron, won by dec over Kyle Palic, Marion 5-4
3rd: Jacob Green, Norton, won by default over Dylan Gassman, Oakley

Championship: Dalton Goodenberger, McCook, won by dec over Lane Hayes, Scott City 2-0
3rd: Aaron Lozano, Garden City, won by fall over Nick Powell, Cimarron 3:40