June 20, 2024

Tramp; Briscoe earn player of the year honors; Prieto and Holloway top skippers (Audio)

Jacy Holloway Audio

Carlos Prieto Audio

Caleb Tramp Audio

Garden City, KS (westernkansasnews.com)-It took no more than 10 seconds vs. Olathe North in the semifinals of the Hays Shootout for anyone in the gym to realize that Caleb Tramp was what opposing coaches  call a beast. He shredded the Eagles for 29 points, and nearly singlehandedly brought the Buffaloes back from 18 points down. 

There was also the 26-point eruption in a losing effort vs. Maize in the substate finals, that showed what the senior, who’s originally from Hays, was all about. 

Those moments were just the tip of the iceberg of a season filled with spectacular memories. On Wednesday, Tramp added another; being named the Western Athletic Conference’s boys’ player of the year. 

“It’s really an honor,” Tramp said. “Knowing that we just won WAC this year, it means a lot to me.”

Tramp averaged 16 points and 7.4 rebounds per game during his senior season, which included seven 20-point games. 

Guard Jared Koster was named to the second team. 

Dodge City’s Noah Williams was named to the first team with Jackson Oldham making the second team.

On the girls side, Jaymie Bernbeck was named to the first team. She averaged double figures despite missing half the season following off-season knee surgery. Jessica Carillo made the second team.

Dodge City’s Kelley Snodgrass was named the coach of the year. Her team won the conference title for the first time since 2011. Two of her players landed on the first team: Tia Bradshaw and Jessie Harshberger 

On the mats, Garden City’s Tevin Briscoe, who, along with teammate Michael Prieto, became the first Buffalo wrestlers in program history to win three straight individual state titles, was named as the conference wrestler of the year. His leader, Carlos Prieto, was dubbed Coach of the Year. 

“It was almost by default,” Prieto said. “That’s what happens when you win the WAC and a state championships. But Lars Lueders over at Dodge is doing a great job and would have been a great candidate.”

The younger Prieto was named to the first team along with Caysean Campbell, Kaj Perez, Efrain Sanchez, Jesse Nunez and Zeke Herrera. 

Dodge City got three on the first team: Tylor Garcia, Nick Killion and Dylan Servis.