CIF League Awards

San Angelo, TX:  Today the Champions Indoor Football league announced their end of year awards for its inaugural season.  After voting was conducted by the league members, the Dodge City Law were named the league’s Franchise of the Year.  In addition to taking home the league’s top Team award the Law walked away with the Game Ops of the Year award as well Law  Owner and General Manager Ricky Bertz taking home the Executive of the Year.

“To be recognized by the league playing partners as Franchise of the Year is a complete honor given to the Dodge City Law,” said Ricky Bertz.  “This award truly recognizes everyone in the organization top to bottom as we continue to strive for excellence and constantly push ourselves to do even better than the week before both on and off the field.”

Also taking home multiple awards this year were the Sioux City Bandits (Fan Base of the Year, Media Relations of the Year), the Texas Revolution (Dance Team of the Year, Community Relations of the Year).

The league also announced the individual awards for the 2015 season, with Sioux City QB Charles Dowdell winning the league’s first MVP award.  Dowdell threw for 1,757 yards and 37 touchdowns in leading Sioux City to one of the top records in the league.  Dowdell’s coach, Erv Strohbeen was named the league’s Coach of the Year while leading the Sioux City Bandits to at least a share of the league’s best record and a potential number 1 seed in the playoffs. 

“It’s an honor in a very competitive league, and stuff like this doesn’t happen without the experience of my coaching staff, and the great organization that I work for,” said Erv Strohbeen.  “None of this happens without all of the them.”  “I feel like I have a lot of talent around me that helps me be the player that I am, so first and foremost I have to give thanks to my teammates for their efforts in making this award possible,” said Charles Dowdell.  “In addition I have to express my appreciation to the entire coaching staff and personally thank them for putting me in position to maximize my abilities.”

The Quarterback for the Salina Bombers, Chris Coffin, was named the Offensive Player of the Year after throwing for a league high 52 touchdowns and rushing for 11 additional touchdowns in only 11 games this season. 

Playing in his second season with the Texas Revolution, DL DeMario Dixon put together an incredibly impressive season, leading the league with 12.5 sacks and 18 tackles for loss.  Joining Dixon from the Revolution is CIF Rookie of the Year, DL Robert Williams.  Williams finished 3rd in the league with 7.5 sacks, contributing 49 tackles, 13 tackles for loss, 2 INT and 2 defensive touchdowns.  Dixon and Williams helped to spearhead the League’s top ranked Defense (204 yards per game, 39.6 points per game) in getting the Revolution to the playoffs for the first time in team history.

The Special Teams Player of the Year award ended in a tie between Dodge City Law KR Dominique Carson (854 KR yards, 1 TD) and Sioux City Bandits KR Frederick Bruno (727 KR yards, 5 TD).