July 12, 2024

League meetings wrap up in Dodge City (Audio)

Dodge City, KS (westernkansasnews.com)-Expansion and a new playoff format highlighted this year’s Champions Indoor Football League meetings in Dodge City last week. 

Gone is the existing four-team playoff system. In is a new six-team postseason that somewhat models what the National Football League implemented in 1990. Basically the top-two seeds earn opening-round byes. 

Also new for 2016 is expansion. Bloomington returns to the league after a one-year absence. Joining them are the newly formed Salina Liberty, Mesquite, TX and Chicago. 

There will now be two, six-team divisions with Dodge City, Amarillo, Texas, Mesquite, Duke City and San Angelo making up the South while Bloomington, Omaha, Wichita, Salina, Chicago and defending champ Sioux City makikng up the North. 

Listen to acting commissioner and Dodge City Law Co-Owner Ricky Bertz comment on league meetings