September 24, 2022

Summer league competition could pay dividends for SCHS Volleyball


Scott City, Kan. (westernkansasnews.com)–For the first time in three years, Scott City has a bulk of upperclassmen on varsity. To put that in perspective, four seniors, seven juniors and only one underclassman comprise of the 2015 varsity team through the first week of practice. After graduating just one senior off a six-win season in 2014, the Lady Beavers are preparing for a surge in the win column under second year head coach Megan Gentry.

Overall, about 30 players are out this year. A solid summer with strength & conditioning and Mondays spent in Hays for their summer league has given the group a boost and belief to take the next step.

Their schedule will be a little challenging, however. With their first game slated for September 10, the following week will see almost half their schedule played in one week, due to some changes in their opponents from recent years. 

Senior Madison Braun

Senior Madison Orr

Schedule
Thursday, September 10 Ulysses dual
Monday, September 14 Triangular at Great Bend with Smoky Valley
Tuesday, September 15 Quadrangular at Goodland with Goodland, Lakin and Wichita County
Thursday, September 17 Quadrangular in Scott City with Colby, Hoxie and Oakley
Saturday, September 19 Liberal Invitational
Thursday, September 24 LaCrosse dual
Saturday, October 3 Oakley Invitational 
Tuesday, October 6 Triangular @ Holcomb with Holcomb and Southwestern Heights
Thursday, October 8 Quadrangular @ Garden City with Dodge City, Garden City and Ulysses
Saturday, October 10 Scott City Invitational
Saturday, October 17 GWAC @ Holcomb