July 16, 2024

Scott City wrestlers 4th at Abilene

Scott City, Kan. (westernkansasnews.com)–Going into Saturday’s tournament in Abilene, the Beavers knew it would be their toughest tournament of the season. After taking tournament titles in Hoxie and Ulysses, Scott City went up against primarily good 4A competition and placed fourth out of 10 teams at the Abilene Invitational, and took home two gold medalists. Seniors Zach Tucker at 113 and Cooper Griffith at 195 continue their dominance on the mat as they took first in their respective weight divisions. Salina Central won the tournament while Abilene was second.

Scott City will return to competition on Saturday, January 9, at the J.R. Durham Invitational in Norton.

Team Scores
Salina Central 215, Abilene 202, Santa Fe Trail 160, Scott City 146.5; Silver Lake 119, McPherson 115, Pratt 102, Buhler 80, Smoky Valley 76, Nickerson 16

Scott City Wrestlers Results
106: Theron Tucker 6th; won by major decision over EJ Kretzer, McPherson 15-6; won by tech fall over Denton Jacobson, Smoky Valley 16-0; lost by fall to Drew Burgoon, Salina Central 2:36; lost by fall to Jordan Priddy, Silver Lake 3:06; lost by decision to Adam Whitson, Buhler 8-1

113: Zach Tucker 1st; won by fall over Cody James, Pratt 0:20; won by fall over Cole Whitehair, Abilene 4:20; won by fall over Nick Elliott, Buhler 3:16; won by fall over Seth Morgan, McPherson 0:48; won by fall over Julion Falco, Salina Central 3:08

126: Alex Depperschmidt 4th; lost by fall to Brynton Crews, McPherson 2:31; lost by fall to Ben Hopkins, McPherson 4:51; won by major decision over Tony Ibarra, Pratt 18-10; lost by fall to Cody Wuthnow, Abilene 1:20

132: Jack Thomas 3rd; won by fall over Chance Sorell, Salina Central 1:40; won by major decision over Cole Bradford, Silver Lake 9-0; lost by major decision to Austin Eldredge, McPherson 14-1; won by decision over Noah Lackey, Smoky Valley High School 4-0

145: Trey Loftis 5th; lost by fall to Austin Golden, Smoky Valley 1:57; won by major decision over Noe Lara, 14-6; lost by fall to Gable Howerton, Silver Lake 3:37; won by decision over Nathan Elliott, Buhler 11-9; won by fall over Terrell Harder, Salina Central 3:38

152: Wyatt Hayes 3rd; won by fall over Dakota Laun, Abilene 1:14; won by fall over Deriece Burse, Salina Central 0:32; lost by decision to Hunter Howerton, Silver Lake 5-4; won by decision over Colin Koger, Santa Fe Trail 7-3

160; Abraham Wiebe 5th; lost by fall to Kevin Wilson, Abilene 4:31; lost by fall to Taylon Peters, Salina Central 3:55; won by decision over Seth Peterson, Smoky Valley 7-3; won by fall over Layne Watkins, Santa Fe Trail 0:38; won by fall over Seth Peterson, Smoky Valley  1:18

182: Tre Stewart 5th; lost by ultimate tiebreaker to Justin Lamatsch, Pratt 2-1; won by fall over Darin McQueen, Nickerson 2:43; lost by fall to Kyle True, Salina Central 1:07; won by fall over Conner Ridgeway, Santa Fe Trail 1:23; won by major decision over Bryce Riekeman, Abilene 13-2

195: Cooper Griffith 1st; won by fall over Hayden Skaggs, Pratt 1:37; won by fall over Dylan Baldwin, McPherson 0:37; won by decision over Jackson Helvey, Salina Central 3-1; won by decision over Ethan Dean, Santa Fe Trail 5-2; won by decision over Jaron Christiensen, Abilene 5-4

220: Garrett Osborn 3rd; won by fall over Ethan Wampler, Smoky Valley 0:23; won by decision over Jess Renfro, Silver Lake 10-7; lost by fall to Gabe Forrestt, Santa Fe Trail 1:01; won by fall over Raiden Kohman, Pratt 0:40