September 28, 2022

Back to the top; Scott City reclaims own tournament title

Scott City, Kan. (–It’s been three years since Scott City has won their own tournament. For the previous two years Liberal has taken home the top trophy in their first two years back in the tournament. On Saturday, the Beavers returned to the top, but not without a final push by Liberal. Scott City took home the 33rd Scott City Wrestling Classic, holding off Liberal by 15.5 points, while Ulysses surged into the third place position. The Beavers have now won their own tournament 20 times, and have placed second nine other times.

Individually, Scott City’s three seniors took home top honors, as Zach Tucker won his second straight tourney title, this one at 113, Abe Wiebe won his first-ever varsity meet at 160, and Cooper Griffith repeated at 195, winning the rematch from last year’s final over Victor Monarrez of Liberal. Ulysses and Holcomb ended up with two individual winners. For the Longhorns, Chance Rodriguez dominated the 170 pound weight division, while Aaron Hernandez took home the title in the wide open 220 pound weight division. As for the Tigers, Mario Rodriguez won his second straight tournament title, avenging a loss from last week, and Austin Ochoa picked up the tournament win at 285. 

The fastest pin went to Dalton Hensley of Ellis, who won in :16 seconds in the quarterfinals at 145, and freshman Dayton Porsch of Hoxie was named the tournaments Outstanding Wrestler. 


Team Scores
Scott City 153, Liberal 137.5, Ulysses 109, Hoxie 93, Holcomb 89.5, Ellis 70, TMP Marian 65, Wichita County 63, Larned 54.5, Lakin 49, Cimarron 38, St. Francis 37, Holly, CO 35, Sublette 16, Greeley County 9

Individual Results
1st: Krristopher Nolde, Larned, won by fall over Austin Drum, Holly 4:55
3rd: Luis Guereca, Liberal, won by fall over Theron Tucker, Scott City 3:24 

1st: Zach Tucker, Scott City, won by tech fall over Hunter Fitzpatrick, Larned 15-0
3rd: Kevin Torres, Lakin, won by dec over Chris Chandler, Holcomb 9-2

Zach Tucker, Scott City

1st: Dayton Porsch, Hoxie, won by major dec over Dylon Niswonger, Wichita County 14-0
3rd: Brendon Nordyke, Holly, won by fall over Tiernan Poling, St. Francis :23

1st: Bryce Younger, Ellis, won by fall over Bryce Bacon, Hoxie 1:56
3rd: Juan Beltran, Liberal, won by fall over Marcus Nolde, Larned 4:21

1st: Tucker Rhoades, TMP, won by dec over Jack Thomas, Scott City  5-2
3rd: Johnney Perez, Lakin, won by dec over Zak Anderson, Ulysses 7-3

1st: Tristan Porsch, Hoxie, won by dec over Ricky Hockett, TMP 2-0
3rd: Tanner Johnson, Holcomb, won by dec over Dylan Newton, Cimarron 6-0

1st: Dalton Hensley, Ellis, won by fall over Greg McClurg, Liberal 3:51
3rd: Dalton Barker, Ulysses, won by Garrett Brunk, St. Francis 3:44

1st: Mario Rodriguez, Ulysses, won by dec over Clay DeWaal, St. Francis 4-3 (2 OT)
3rd: Wyatt Hayes, Scott City, won by fall over Josh Martinez, Liberal 2:30

Mario Rodriguez, Ulysses

1st: Abe Wiebe, Scott City, won by dec over Layton Tankersley, Wichita County 5-2
3rd: Kaler Gilbert, Ulysses, won by fall over Nikeo Garcia, Liberal 2:02

Abe Wiebe, Scott City

1st: Chance Rodriguez, Holcomb, won by fall over Trey Loftis, Scott City 1:19
3rd: Misael Monarrez, Liberal, won by dec over Colton Heskett, Hoxie 5-4

Chance Rodriguez, Holcomb

182 (Round Robin)
1. Chris Boman, Liberal, 2. Josh Seabolt, Cimarron, 3. Javier Hernandez, Wichita County, 4. Cameron Blankenship, Sublette

1st: Cooper Griffith, Scott City, won by dec over Victor Monarrez, Liberal 3-1
3rd: Diego Maravilla, Ulysses, won by fall over Kyle Sherwood, Scott City :59

Cooper Griffith, Scott City

220 (Round Robin)
1. Aaron Hernandez, Holcomb, 2. Logan Gugelmeyer, Lakin, 3. Garrett Osborn, Scott City, 4. Chris Stecklein, TMP

Aaron Hernandez, Holcomb

1st: Austin Ochoa, Ulysses, won by dec over Taye Washington, Hoxie 4-3
3rd: Elwin Trejo, Liberal, won by fall over Jesse Hermosillo, Wichita County 5:14

Austin Ochoa, Ulysses