April 15, 2024

Velasquez Victorious Again at Dodge City

Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (July 23, 2016) – After surrendering the Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Car points lead during the recent “Boothill Showdown”, Taylor Velasquez rebounded by wiring the field in Saturday night’s 20-lap feature atop the 3/8-mile Dodge City Raceway Park clay oval.

While Velasquez added his third score of the year in the Sprint Car ranks, other Saturday night feature winners included Brendon Gemmill in IMCA Modifieds, Jeff Kaup in IMCA Sport Modifieds, Michael Pepper in IMCA Stock Cars and David Berger in IMCA Hobby Stocks.

Finishing outside the top five for the first time this season in the July 3 “Boothill Showdown” finale, Turpin, Oklahoma’s Velasquez bounced right back with a  wire-to-wire win from the pole position aboard the Bearcat Well Service/Fronk Oil Company No. 21x Sprint Car.

Velasquez outgunned fellow front row starter Tracey Hill at the drop of the green flag and led throughout with action interrupted by caution just once after 11 laps for debris on the track.

“I felt like we were getting through traffic alright,” Velasquez explained afterward.  “I was actually a little concerned when that yellow came out, sometimes cautions can change the game completely.

Velasquez had no need for concern this time as he drove on to the checkered flag unabated with 15-year-old Hill holding off veteran shoe Mike Peters for a DCRP-career best finish in second.  Peters settled for the show position with Luke Cranston gaining three positions after the lap 11 caution to capture fourth and hold on to the track points lead by just one marker over Velasquez.  Jeremy Huish rounded out the top five.

In the 20-lap IMCA Modified main event, Ponca City, OK, native Brendon Gemmill took command on the third circuit and led the rest of the way to capture his second DCRP win in a row.

The past track champion gridded the field fourth and raced by pole starter David Solberg on a lap three restart with Mike Lunow and William Nusser following suit.

Lunow tried to keep up with the lead pace, but Gemmill gradually opened up a dozen car-length advantage.  Lunow cut into that in the closing handful of circuits but couldn’t get close enough to challenge Gemmill for the point.

Gemmill was chased to the line by Lunow and Nusser with Joel Lane in fourth as Casey Jo Gemmill made a late move to round out the top five.

Jeff Kaup continued his pursuit of a fourth consecutive IMCA Sport Modified track championship by racing to his fourth victory of the year in Saturday’s non-stop 15-lap main event.

Woodward’s Kaup raced from sixth to second in the opening pair of laps and then battled past early leader Kyle Wiens on the high side to take command on the seventh circuit.

Kaup checked out to secure another victory, though he gained a minimal amount on current points leader Kevin Tabor, who emerged atop the battle for runner-up honors.  Jeremy Sigler claimed third with Bart Baker and Wiens rounding out the top five.

No late-race dramatics were necessary for Lakin’s Michael Pepper this time out as he claimed his fourth consecutive IMCA Stock Car feature win and sixth of the year to better his 2015 championship campaign that netted five wins.

After late-race moves to win the last two events, Pepper pounced on the lead early by racing past Shannon Maughlin on the second round.  Pepper opened up nearly a straightaway lead that was erased by a caution just three laps shy of the checkered flag in the 12-lapper.  Pepper was not to be denied though, keeping Maughlin and Chris Oliver at bay over the closing laps.

In the 15-lap IMCA Hobby Stock feature, hometown shoe David Berger battled into the lead on the fourth lap and led the rest of the way for his first win of the year.

After getting past early leader Tyler Walker, Berger had his hands full holding off Reagan Sellard, Matt O’Hair, Duane Wahrman and Cody Davis the rest of the way.

Action continues at Dodge City Raceway Park with “Driver Appreciation Night” next Friday night, July 30, with Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Cars along with IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sport Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars and IMCA Hobby Stocks.

Dodge City Raceway Park

July 23 Results:

Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Cars:

Heat One (8 Laps):  1. 33-Koby Walters, 2. 49x-Mike Peters, 3. 88J-Jeremy Huish, 4. 10-Jordan Knight, 5. 72-Ray Seemann, 6. 0-Steven Richardson, 7. 49-Kris Moore. DNS: 18-Brandon Sprott.

Heat Two (8 Laps):  1. 21x-Taylor Velasquez, 2. 1x-Cody Lampe, 3. 11k-Tyler Knight, 4. 28-Tracey Hill, 5. 20-Luke Cranston, 6. 17x-Craig Jecha, 7. 97-Brian Herbert.

“A” Main (20 Laps):  1. 21x-Taylor Velasquez, 2. 28-Tracey Hill, 3. 49x-Mike Peters, 4. 20-Luke Cranston, 5. 88J-Jeremy Huish, 6. 33-Kob Walters, 7. 11k-Tyler Knight, 8. 72-Ray Seemann, 9. 49-Kris Moore, 10. 10-Jordan Knight, 11. 97-Brian Herbert, 12. 0-Steven Richardson, 13. 1x-Cody Lampe, 14. 17x-Craig Jecha, 15. 18-Brandon Sprott.


IMCA Modifieds:

Heat One (8 Laps):  1. 44-Mike Lunow, 2. 25b-Tom Beavers, 3. K98-Danny Keller, 4. 721-Troy Gemmill, 5. 3c-Casey Jo Gemmill, 6. 2L-Tracy Link, 7. 88J-Jack Kirchoff, 8. 25-Kale Beavers.

Heat Two (8 Laps):  1. 7s-David Solberg, 2. 7n-William Nusser, 3. G3-Brendon Gemmill, 4. 57-Joel Lane, 5. 3h-Ryan Heger, 6. 01-Jesse Smith, 7. 1n-Nick Link.

“A” Main (20 Laps):  1. G3-Brendon Gemmill, 2. 44-Mike Lunow, 3. 7n-William Nusser, 4. 57-Joel Lane, 5. 3c-Casey Jo Gemmill, 6. 3h-Ryan Heger, 7. 25b-Tom Beavers, 8. 1n-Nick Link, 9. 7s-David Solberg, 10. 01-Jesse Smith, 11. 2L-Tracy Link, 12. 25-Kale Beavers, 13. 88J-Jack Kirchoff, 14. K98-Danny Keller, 15. 721-Troy Gemmill.


IMCA Sport Modifieds:

Heat One (8 Laps):  1. 09-Brett Berry, 2. 92-Jeff Kaup, 3. 81-Tristen Barton, 4. 8-Brian May, 5. 18-Kyle Wiens, 6. 4-Scott Claussen. DNS: 10-Alex Wiens.

Heat Two (8 Laps):  1. 21J-Jeremy Sigler, 2. 37-Bart Baker, 3. 12-Kevin Tabor, 4. 10T-Toby Witthuhn, 5. 12x-Brad Johnson, 6. 62-Marvin Ward.

“A” Main (15 Laps):  1. 92-Jeff Kaup, 2. 12-Kevin Tabor, 3. 21J-Jeremy Sigler, 4. 37-Bart Baker, 5. 18-Kyle Wiens, 6. 10T-Toby Witthuhn, 7. 09-Brett Barry, 8. 81T-Tristen Barton, 9. 12x-Brad Johnson, 10. 8-Brian May, 11. 10-Alex Wiens, 12. 4-Scott Claussen, 13. 62-Marvin Ward.


IMCA Stock Cars:

Heat One (8 Laps):  1. 17m-Shannon Maughlin, 2. 22-Michael Pepper, 3. 3-Chris Oliver, 4. 19-Brett Copeland, 5. 10-Dusty Witthuhn, 6. 54p-Kyle Pfeifer, 7. 33-Marlin Hogie, 8. 28-Ryan Grubbs.

“A” Main (12 Laps):  1. 22-Michael Pepper, 2. 17m-Shannon Maughlin, 3. 3-Chris Oliver, 4. 33-Marlin Hogie, 5. 10-Dusty Witthuhn, 6. 19-Brett Copeland, 7. 28-Ryan Grubbs. DNS: 54p-Kyle Pfeifer.


IMCA Hobby Stocks:

Heat One (8 Laps):  1. 007-Bryan Habiger, 2. 55-Jacob Huse, 3. 2s-Reagan Sellard, 4. 17w-Duane Wahrman, 5. 20-Tyler Walker, 6. 98z-Zach Olmstead.

Heat Two (8 Laps):  1. 2m-Matt O’Hair, 2. 91d-Cody Davis, 3. 44b-David Berger, 4. 711-Brady Bencken, 5. 7-Tom Reed.

“A” Main (15 Laps):  1. 44b-David Berger, 2. 2s-Reagan Sellard, 3. 2m-Matt O’Hair, 4. 17w-Duane Wahrman, 5. 91d-Cody Davis, 6. 7-Tom Reed, 7. 20-Tyler Walker, 8. 007-Bryan Habiger, 9. 55-Jacob Huse, 10. 711-Brady Bencken, 11. 98z-Zach Olmstead.