May 27, 2024

Andale leads after day one at 4A State Wrestling; eight area athletes still alive

Salina, Kan. (–After a 7-2 start in the first round, the southwest Kansas area wrestlers at the Class 4A State Wrestling Tournament had a tough go, and finished without an area wrestler in the finals for Saturday. While there were three semi-finalists, eight of the area wrestlers are still alive.

Scott City started out well, winning all of their first four matches by fall. They would go 1-3 in the quarterfinals and lost their lone semi-final match. Ulysses went 2-1 in the first round, 1-1 in the quarterfinals, and lost their match in the semi-finals, and lost their match in the consolation first round. Holcomb went 1-1 in the first round, and had a wrestler go to the semi-finals, and another wrestler advance to the consolation second round.

Consolation second round wrestlebacks begin at 9 am Saturday at the Tony’s Pizza Events Center.

Team Scores
Andale 84.5, Bonner Springs 73.5, Abilene 70.5, Clay Center 56, Pratt 52, Santa Fe Trail 49, McPherson 47.5, Spring Hill 47, Andover Central 38, Tonganoxie 36, El Dorado 33.5, Burlington 32, Frontenac 30.5, Colby 29.5, Basehor-Linwood 28.5, Holton 28, Paola 27, Goodland 26, Clearwater 25.5, Maize South 25, Mulvane 24, Buhler 23, Scott City 21, Prairie View 20, Louisburg 15, Ottawa 15, Augusta 12, Holcomb 12, Winfield 12, Smoky Valley 11, Rose Hill 11, Ulysses 11, Baldwin 10, Columbus 9, Eudora 8.5, Independence 8, Anderson County 7, Circle 7, Concordia 4, Wamego 3, Fort Scott 2, Wellington 2, Bishop Miege 1, Hays 1, Iola 1, Jefferson West 1, Atchison 0, Coffeyville-Field Kindley 0, Labette County 0, Nickerson 0, Osawatomie 0, Topeka Hayden 0, Wichita Trinity Academy 0

Finalists and Area Results
Finals: Rhett Edmonson, McPherson (29-10) vs Preston Martin, Paola (37-3)

Finals: Jayson West, Maize South (35-2) vs Darryl Rylant, Clearwater (36-2)
Justus McDaniel, Scott City: won by fall over Colton Chapman, Labette County :36; lost by tech fall to Darryl Rylant, Clearwater 15-0

Finals: Tate Carney, Colby (39-2) vs Dylan Pelland, Pratt (28-2)

Finals: Noah Nemer, Spring Hill (37-5) vs Tanner Hitchcock, Bonner Springs (38-1)
Kaden Wren, Scott City: won by fall over Mannie Gonzalez, Fort Scott 3:40; lost by tech fall to Tanner Hitchcock, Bonner Springs 16-1

Finals: Gunnar Gentzler, Andover Centeral (33-10) vs Corbin Nirschl, Basehor-Linwood 42-1

Finals: Austin Eldredge, McPherson (40-3) vs Zach Eck, Andale (36-3)

Finals: Bryce Erickson, Santa Fe Trail (20-3) vs Colby Johnson, Burlington (40-0)

Finals: Nick Lucas, Pratt (37-2) vs Anthony Scantlin, Mulvane (41-0)
Jarret Jurgens, Scott City: won by fall over Nick Haberkorn, Topeka-Hayden 1:49; won by dec over Zarek Fewell, Fort Scott 5-2; lost by dec to Nick Lucas, Pratt 5-1
Tanner Johnson, Holcomb: lost by dec to Zarek Fewell, Fort Scott 3-2 TB-1; won by fall over Nick Haberkorn, Topeka-Hayden 2:39
Dalton Barker, Ulysses: won by dec over Jordan Ishimura, Frontenac 12-5; lost by fall to Caden Searcy, Tonganoxie 3:10

Finals: Hunter Mullin, Clay Center (38-2) vs Brandon Mlekus, Frontenac (36-1)
Wyatt Hayes, Scott City: won by fall over Chris Clark, Circle 2:52; lost by dec to Brandon Mlekus, Frontenac 6-3

Finals: Dakota Motter, El Dorado (32-1) vs Tyler Price, Holton (38-5)
Chance Rodriguez, Holcomb: won by fall over Chandler Eaton, Nickerson 1:25; won by dec over Joey Ewalt, Prairie View 4-2, lost by dec to Tyler Price, Holton 2-1 UTB

Finals: Trey Hoerner, Abilene (39-1) vs Ryan Tiers, Clay Center (32-7)

Finals: Sean Singleton, Bonner Springs (38-3) vs Anthony Capul, Andale 39-0
Ayston Perez, Ulysses: lost by fall to Blaine Ray, Ottawa 3:11; lost by dec to Austin Raetzel, Louisburg 15-12

Finals: Davon Spexarth, Andlae (38-4) vs Caleb Willis, Bonner Springs (40-1)
Austin Ochoa, Ulysses: won by fall over Jaron Christiensen, Abilene 5:56; won by dec over Tel Wittmer, Holton 3-1; lost by dec to Davon Spexarth, Andale 5-4

Finals: Jake Hastings, Santa Fe Trail (36-2) vs Sam Christy, Spring Hill (36-6)