May 24, 2024

President Trump Approves Disaster Declaration for Kansas

( The Federal Emergency Management Agency has announced federal disaster assistance has been made available for the ice storms that swept through Western Kansas on January 13-16.

Federal funding is available to state and local governments along with certain non-profit organizations for emergency work and replacement of facilities damaged by the storm in Barton, Clark, Comanche, Edwards, Ellsworth, Ford, Hodgeman, Jewell, Kiowa, Meade, Ness, Pawnee, Pratt, Rush, Seward, Sheridan, Stafford and Trego Counties. 

FEMA says additional declarations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by further damage assessments.

File Photo Used