Finney and Seward Co. Election Deadlines

Garden City, KS ( The November 2017 local election application deadline expired at noon yesterday for Finney County and we’ll see some new names and faces.

The Garden City Commission, Garden City USD 457 Board of Education, Garden City Community College Board of Trustees, Holcomb USD 363 Board of Education and Holcomb City Council will feature 23 applicants pursuing 13 positions.

Mayor Melvin Dale is the only city commissioner to seek reelection. Janet Doll and Chris Law didn’t file. However Dale will face quite a few new challengers in Lindsay Byrnes, Pedro Rodriguez, Keith Collins, Troy Unruh, John Hahn and Chris Hamlin. The top three vote getters in November will get the three seats.

The GCCC Board of Trustees seats of Merilyn Douglass, Melvin Neufeld and Blake Wasinger are up with all three incumbents choosing to run again. David Rupp and A. Leonard Hitz also have filed to run against them.

For Garden City USD 457, the board seats of President Jean Clifford, Lara Bors and Gloria Hopkins are up for grabs, and Clifford and Bors have filed for reelection. Tim Hanigan, Alex Wallace and Jeff Sims will challenge the two incumbents for those three seats.

The Holcomb, city council incumbent Ronald G. Schreibvogel is seeking reelection, and his challenger is Sam Mesa.

In Holcomb USD 363 incumbent Jill George seeks reelection for position 4, and Kasey Robinson will persue reelection to position 5. Position 6 will come down to an election between Matthew Jones and Cody Douglas.

In Seward County 13 filed to run for the Liberal City Commission: Dave Harrison, Chris Jiminez Carlile, Dean Aragon, Taylor Harden, Connie L. Seigrist, Justin Varnes, Rick Rose, Ron Warren, Gary Andrews, Jimmy Dean Holman, Dale Harrold, Andy Stewart and Travis Combs.

Seven filed to run for the USD 480 board: Noe Tolento Jr., Cindi Martin, Nick Hatcher, Matthew Durler, Alan Brown, Elsa M. Fraire and Royce Kitts.

Three filed for Kismet City Council: Bryan Garrison, Jason Jennings and Emery Ball.

Rodney Lewis was the only to file for Kismet City Mayor. Three filed for the SCCC board Dustin R. Ormiston, Ron Oliver and Casey Mein. Three also filed for USD 483(Member Dist 2) Ron Eakes, Antonio Arellano and Sharla Arrington.

Voting will take place on November 7.