August 10, 2022

New Seat Belt Law Starts July 1


(westernkansasnews.com) The fine for not wearing your seat belt will triple on July 1 in Kansas. The seat belt violation fine will raise from $10 to $30 that day thanks to a new bill.

Senate Bill 89 was passed by the Kansas legislature and signed into law in May by Governor Brownback. The bill triples the fine for a person 18 years and older for not wearing a seat belt while the car is moving.