August 10, 2022

Moustakas earns final All-Star spot

As announced on MLB Tonight on MLB Network and, Mike Moustakas of the Kansas City Royals and Justin Turner of the Los Angeles Dodgers were chosen by fan voting as the winners of the 2017 Esurance MLB All-Star Game Final Vote. Moustakas and Turner earned the final roster spots on the AL and NL All-Star Teams through online voting on, the individual Club sites and Twitter, where custom player hashtags counted during the final six hours of voting today.

Turner, who will be making his first All-Star appearance, tallied an all-time record 20.8 million votes in winning the National League race. That total surpassed the previous mark set by Freddie Freeman in 2013 (19.7 million). Moustakas drew 15.6 million votes this year and became only the second player ever to win the All-Star Game Final Vote twice, joining Shane Victorino. The Royals third baseman also won the Final Vote in 2015 when he made his first All-Star Game appearance.

2017 Esurance MLB All-Star Game Final Vote standings:


American League

  1. Mike Moustakas, KC
  2. Xander Bogaerts, BOS
  3. Didi Gregorius, NYY
  4. Elvis Andrus, TEX
  5. Logan Morrison, TB


National League

  1. Justin Turner, LAD
  2. Kris Bryant, CHI
  3. Anthony Rendon, WSH
  4. Mark Reynolds, COL
  5. Justin Bour, MIA




This year’s Esurance MLB All-Star Game Final Vote again drew to an exciting finish over its final few hours and minutes, which had Twitter votes coming in by the thousands per minute. Overall, the top two candidates with the most Twitter supporters were the second place finishers in each League, making last day runs at the leaders, #VoteKB and #VoteX. They were followed closely by #VoteMoose, #VoteJT and #SirDidi4Sure in the top five.

For the final regional analysis of the 2017 Esurance MLB All-Star Game Final Vote, go to’s data visualization map. Click here to access the interactive map.