August 14, 2022

Lady Beaver Volleyball looking to pick up where they left off


Scott City, Kan. (westernkansasnews.com)–The 2016 season saw a recharge in to a program that had been down for three consecutive seasons. Gone are seven seniors that led them to one match from being at the Class 4A, Division II state tournament.

Yes, it can be tough losing seven players off your team. With only two full time varsity players returning and four seniors, you can sense that the confidence level through the first three days of practice has not been lost. The Lady Beavers return two First Team, All-GWAC performers in Jalynn Habiger and Emily Smith. 

Around 30 players make up the 2017 Scott City volleyball program under first year head coach Shelby Kite. Kite, however, is familiar with many of the varsity players, coaching them on the junior varsity level last season. This is her third year as a coach in the program.

They will have their scrimmage this Friday, before starting their season on Friday, August 25 in Oakley.

Senior Jalynn Habiger

Senior Bailey Latta

Senior Macie Price

Senior Emily Smith

Schedule (Varsity Only)
Friday, August 26 Triangular @ Oakley 4:30 pm
Thursday, September 7 Dual vs Ulysses 5 pm
Tuesday, September 12 Quadrangular @ Goodland 4 pm
Thursday, September 14 Triangular @ Hoxie 3:30 pm
Thursday, September 21 Dual @ LaCrosse 5 pm
Thursday, September 28 Triangular @ Ulysses 4 pm
Saturday, September 30 Oakley Tournament 9 am
Tuesday, October 3 Triangular @ Holcomb 5 pm
Thursday, October 5 Scott City Quadrangular 4 pm
Saturday, October 7 Scott City Invitational 9 am
Tuesday, October 10 Quadrangular @ Cimarron TBA
Saturday, October 14 GWAC @ Goodland 10 am
Tuesday, October 17 Triangular @ Hill City 4:30 pm