May 24, 2024

Larned rallies late to win 34th Scott City Wrestling Classic

Scott City, Kan. (–For the first time in two years, a wrestling tournament took place in Scott City. Sixteen teams took part in the 34th Scott City Wrestling Tournament. In the end, it was the Larned Indians with just enough depth to win the tournament, just besting Scott City by two points.

Larned led the tournament going into the finals. Scott City took the brief lead, but wins at 220 and 285 pounds helped the Indians go past the Beavers for the win.

Four Scott City wrestlers took home titles, led by Justus McDaniel at 126, Kaden Wren at 132, Jarret Jurgens at 160 and Wyatt Hayes at 170. Three other wrestlers, one unattached for team points, medaled for the Beavers. Ulysses and Hugoton saw themselves with two individual titles. Quentin Pauda at 106 and Juan Carlos Terrazas at 138 were the gold medalist for the Tigers, while seniors Bradan Slemp at 152 and Marcos Baeza at 182 took home titles for Hugoton. Cimarron’s Josh Seabolt was the 195-pound champion and Lakin’s Hadley Panzer took home gold at 285

The Outstanding Wrestler of the tournament went to Justus McDaniel of Scott City, who won over Bryce Younger of Ellis in the 126-pound weight class. McDaniel came in ranked third and Younger second in Class 3-2-1A.

Team Scores
Larned 134.5, Scott City 132.5, Hugoton 113.5, Ulysses 95.5, Cimarron 82, St. Francis 82, Lakin 78, Holly, CO 69, Garden Plain 62.5, Wichita County 58, Ellis 45, TMP-Marian 31, Russell 29, Greeley County 19, Sublette 13, Brewster 8

Finals Results
Championship: Quentin Pauda, Ulysses, won by dec over Stephen Baldwin, Russell, 7-6 (2 OT)
3rd Place: Sam Pyle, Ellis, won by fall over Anthony Quintana, Larned, 3:32

Quentin Pauda, Ulysses

Championship: Austin Crum, Holl, won by dec over Braiden Lynn, Cimarron, 7-1
3rd Place: Nathan Leininger, Hugoton, won by dec over Corbyn Pauda, Ulysses, 6-3

Championship: Thomas Lovewell, TMP-Marian, won by dec over Micheal Saenz, Larned, 4-3
3rd Place: Jacob Miller, Greeley County, won by default over Cody Crum, Holly, (Five-match limit)

Championship: Justus McDaniel, Scott City, won by dec over Bryce Younger, Ellis, 6-3
3rd Place: Brendyn Nordyke, Holly, won by fall over Chandler Schoenberger, Russell, 3:30

Justus McDaniel, Scott City

Championship: Kaden Wren, Scott City, won by maj dec over Tiernan Poling, St. Francis,  9-1
3rd Place: Brayden Lemuz, Larned, won by fall over Mercedes Gassmann, Garden Plain, 0:26

Kaden Wren, Scott City

Championship: Juan Carlos Terrazas, Ulysses, won by dec over Kristopher Nolde, Larned, 8-5
3rd Place: Konnor Pfeifer, Ellis, won by default over Noah Kliesen, Scott City, (Five-match limit)(Kliesen wrestled unattached)

Juan Carlos Terrazas, Ulysses

Championship: Hunter Fitzpatrick, Larned, won by dec over Johnney Perez, Lakin, 6-5
3rd Place: Jesse Gardner, Wichita County, won by fall over Tranden Daerr, Garden Plain,  2:57

Championship: Bradan Slemp, Hugoton, won by dec over Kayden Christiansen, Lakin, 3-1
3rd Place: Tate Seabolt, Cimarron, won by dec over Grayden Flint, Holly, 3-1

Bradan Slemp, Hugoton 

Championship: Jarret Jurgens, Scott City, won by fall over Michael Mendoza, Hugoton, 2:30
3rd Place: Cody Baxter, St. Francis, won by fall over Garet Walker, Cimarron, 2:19

Jarret Jurgens, Scott City

Championship: Wyatt Hayes, Scott City, won by fall over Dylan Newton, Cimarron, 5:17
3rd Place: Manny Mendoza, Hugoton, won by tech fall over Grant Murray, Garden Plain, 15-0

Wyatt Hayes, Scott City

Championship: Marcos Baeza (Hugoton) 19-0, Sr. over Caleb East (Larned) 12-9, So. (Fall 4:50
3rd Place: Cale Goodman, Scott City, won by dec over Jace Garrison, Ulysses, 2-1

Marcos Baeza, Hugoton

Championship: Josh Seabolt, Cimarron, won by fall over Luin Norris, St. Francis, 2:55
3rd Place: Alex Corpus, Ulysses, won by fall over Blake Hernandez, Wichita County, 3:34

Josh Seabolt, Cimarron

Championship: Trayton Doyle, St. Francis, won by fall over David Cruz, Hugoton, 6-3
3rd Place: Josh Kramer, Larned, won by fall over Ethan Swaffer, Garden Plain, 0:40

Championship: Hadley Panzer, Lakin, won by dec over Jesse Hermosillo, Wichita County, 3-0
3rd Place: Jeremiah Slattery, Larned, won by default over Gabe Bowers, Scott City, (Five-match limit)

Hadley Panzer, Lakin