May 27, 2024

Scott City wins 3-2-1A Regional Title; 13 area wrestlers state bound

Goodland, Kan. (–The Scott City Beavers qualified six wrestlers and took home the Class 321A Regional Championship on Saturday at the Max Jones Fieldhouse in Goodland. Scott City had 12 alive through Friday, and were able to qualify half of their team. Norton took the runner-up spot and Colby finished third. Cimarron was the other top area team finishing in sixth.

Scott City has three regional champions, including Justus McDaniel at 126, Jarret Jurgens at 160 and Wyatt Hayes at 170. McDaniel and Jurgens are repeat regional champions. Cimarron had three in the finals and finished with two champions in Dylan Newton at 182 and Josh Seabolt at 195. Lakin’s Hadley Panzer took the tournament title at 285.

Cimarron and Lakin qualified three wrestlers and Wichita County is sending one to Hays next weekend.

Scott City Coach Jon Lippelmann was named KWCA Regional Coach of the Year, and Cimarron’s Josh Seabolt was selected KWCA Regional Wrestler of the Year.

The Class 3-2-1A State Wrestling Tournament will be Friday & Saturday, February 23 & 24 in Hays.

Team Scores
Scott City 145, Norton 128, Colby 123, Hoxie 111, Goodland 96, Cimarron 92.5, Oakley 76, Lakin 66.5, Philipsburg 65.5, Plainville 65, Oberlin 63.5, Rawlins County 61.5, Hill City 55, Ellis 48, St. Francis 45, Wichita County 44, Trego 41, TMP Marian 23, Sublette 21, Brewster 18, Stockton 14, Logan 9.5, Greeley County 7, South Gray 0

Finals Results
Finals: Alec Segarra, Hill City, won by dec over Rathe Aschenbrenner, Colby, 14-7
Third Place: Aaron Lenker, Phillipsburg, won by fall over Sam Pyle, Ellis, 3:36

Finals: Zach Sherman, Hoxie, won by dec over Camdyn Unterseher, Norton, 9-2
Third Place: Alex Eskew, Oberlin, won by fall over Brandon Roberts, Scott City, 4:04

Brandon Roberts, Scott City

Finals: Jacob Sisson, Phillipsburg, won by dec over Braiden Lynn, Cimarron, 6-2 2 OT
Third Place: Dylan Weimer, Hoxie, won by dec over Jake Reed, Colby 3-0

Braiden Lynn, Cimarron

Finals: Justus McDaniel, Scott City, won by dec over  Kel Grafel, Oberlin, 9-2
Third Place: Bryce Younger, Ellis, won by fall over Aidan Stephenson, Oakley, 1:41

Justus McDaniel, Scott City

Finals: Ryan Johnson, Norton, won by dec over Jace Lenker, Phillipsburg, 3-0
Third Place: Kaden Wren, Scott City, won by fall over Aidan Baalman, Hoxie 3:38

Kaden Wren, Scott City

Finals: Dawson Ensign, Goodland, won by fall over Joaquin Castillo, Wichita County, 3:02
Third Place: Kurt Schroeder, Colby, won by dec over Konnor Pfeifer, Ellis 1-0

Joaquin Castillo, Wichita County

Finals: Tristan Porsch, Hoxie, won by fall over Johhney Perez, Lakin, 3:42
Third Place: Ethan Hamel, Hill City, won by dec over Isaiah Mason, Oberlin, 6-5

Johhney Perez, Lakin

Finals: Sean Rall, Colby, won by dec over Jalen Kruep, Rawlins County, 9-5
Third Place: Kayden Christiansen, Lakin, won by dec over Wylie Weems, Hoxie 9-8

Kayden Christiansen, Lakin

Finals: Jarret Jurgens, Scott City won by dec over Jordan Finnesy, Plainville, 6-0
Third Place: Cole Amlong, Norton, won by dec over Morgan Rains, Oakley, 14-10

Jarret Jurgens, Scott City

Finals: Wyatt Hayes, Scott City, won by dec over Maverick Green, Rawlins County, 4-2
Third Place: Noah Hansen, Plainville, won by dec over Kory Finley, Colby, 4-2

Wyatt Hayes, Scott City

Finals: Dylan Newton, Cimarron, won by dec over Tevin Petrie, Norton, 5-2
Third Place: Hagan Booi, Colby, won by fall over Evan Peter, Goodland, 3:29

Dylan Newton, Cimarron

Finals: Josh Seabolt, Cimarron, won by dec over Hayden Wiltfong, Norton, 7-0
Third Place: Tucker Branum, Colby, won by fall over Riley Junkermeier, Plainville, 2:11

Josh Seabolt, Cimarron

Finals: Luis Ledesma, Goodland, won by dec over Chris Cox, Hoxie, 6-3
Third Place: Trayton Doyle, St. Francis, won by dec over Dillon Dunn, Trego, 7-2

Finals: Hadley Panzer, Lakin, won by fall over Reyes Bustillos, Goodland, 3:07
Third Place: Zack Johnson, Brewster, won by dec over Gabe Bowers, Scott City 2-1

Hadley Panzer, Lakin


Gabe Bowers, Scott City