May 26, 2024

Longtime Broncbuster Athletic Director, Dennis Perryman passes away

Garden City, KS-Former Garden City Community College Athletic Director Dennis Perryman, a man that in nearly two decades of work, brought the Broncbusters back to prominence, died Tuesday in his home in Garden City.

“I was very said to hear of Coach Perryman’s passing,” Athletic Director John Green said. “I enjoyed knowing and working with Dennis as region directors and on committees in the NJCAA. He loved the world of collegiate athletics.”

During his 19 years as athletic director, Perryman was instrumental in curating one of most successful runs in Broncbuster history. The football program won 75 percent of its games, taking home six conference titles and landing in 13 bowl games. The wrestling team captured eight straight zone titles and three national championships. The baseball program hoisted seven regional-championship trophies and played in the 1999 JUCO World Series, and the women’s basketball program qualified for nationals twice, finishing fourth in 2003. They also produced 150 NJCAA Academic All-Americans.

“Coach Perryman loved the world of collegiate athletics,” Green added. “My thoughts and prayers go out to his family and the many people who were touched by him.”

Perryman was actively involved in many different areas of junior-college athletics, serving as Region VI Director.

He oversaw the construction of Williams Stadium and the Broncbuster Baseball Academy. Perryman was instrumental in the expansion of the campus athletics complex, and soon after his retirement in 2005, the physical education building was named after him.

“It was a total shock to me,” Perryman said during his retirement ceremony.

Before coming to Garden City, Perryman was the Head Men’s Basketball Coach at Dawson Community College in Montana. He also had coaching stints at Northern Montana University and South Plains Junior College in Levelland, TX, finishing his career with 400 wins. In 1999, Perryman was elected into the NJCAA Basketball Hall of Fame.