June 20, 2024

New chief judge appointed for 16th Judicial District

(Special to westernkansasnews.com)

TOPEKA, Kan. — The Kansas Supreme Court has appointed District Judge E. Leigh Hood as chief judge of the 16th Judicial District from January 1 through December 31, 2019.

Hood will succeed Chief Judge Van Hampton, who is retiring.

The 16th Judicial District is composed of Clark, Comanche, Ford, Gray, Kiowa, and Meade counties.

“We are glad that Judge Hood has agreed to serve as chief judge, providing continuity in capable leadership in the 16th Judicial District,” said Nuss. “I have an added interest because my family has owned farm ground in Ford County since the 1880s.”

Hood, a Bucklin native, was elected a Ford County district judge in 2000 and has been re-elected four times since.

“I am honored to be appointed as the chief judge of the 16th Judicial District following the retirement of Judge Hampton. I look forward to continuing to work with our clerks, attorneys, and fellow judges as we move forward,” Hood said.

He earned a bachelor’s degree in 1977 from Wichita State University and a law degree in 1982 from Washburn University School of Law.

He was assistant county attorney for Ford County from 1982 to 1989 and county attorney for Ford County from 1989 to 2001.

He and his wife, Lisa, have two children and live in Bucklin.

Each of Kansas’ 31 judicial districts has a chief judge who, in addition to his or her judicial responsibilities, has general control over case assignments within the district, as well as general supervisory authority over the administrative and clerical functions of the court.