June 23, 2024

Scott City wins Ron Smith Invitational

Ulysses, Kan. (westernkansasnews.com)–For the second straight week, Holcomb, Scott City and Ulysses found themselves in the same tournament. This time it was at Ulysses at the 55th Annual Ron Smith Invitational on Friday and Saturday. The Scott City Beavers would put nine in the finals on Friday, and would take home six individual titles en route to the tournament title. Scott City had 235.5 points, 21.5 better than host Ulysses with 214, while Wichita County had 116 points, and was in third place in their first competition of the year.

For the Beavers, Brandon Roberts at 120, Justus McDaniel at 132, Kaden Wren at 138, Theron Tucker at 145, Wyatt Hayes at 170 and Kyle Sherwood at 220 took first in their weight classes. Ulysses had five in the finals and won three. Quentin Pauda at 106, Corbyn Pauda at 113 and Jace Garrison at 195 won their weight classes. Wichita County had two champions in Tristen Porter at 126 and Jesse Gardner at 152. Hugoton’s Michael Mendoza, Lakin’s Hadley Panzer at 285, Holcomb’s Tanner Johnson at 182, all took titles.

Team Scores
Scott City 235.5, Ulysses 214, Wichita County 124, Lakin 116, St. Francis 100, Boys Ranch, TX 94, Hugoton 93, Holcomb 67.5, Garden City 64, Dodge City 42.5, Greeley County 42, Brewster 32, Baca County, CO 18, Liberal 17

Finals Results
Championship: Quentin Pauda, Ulysses, won by fall over Isabell Ortiz, Lakin, 4:48
3rd Place: Deveron Yarbrough, Hugoton, won by fall over Amadeus Holler, Liberal,  1:19

Championship: Corbyn Pauda, Ulysses, won by dec over Zach Rohrbough, Scott City, 6-3
3rd Place: Kobe Chavez, Ulysses, won by fall over Cooper Henson, Holcomb, 4:51

Championship: Brandon Roberts, Scott City, won by dec over Garin Cooper, St. Francis, 7-3
3rd Place: Jonathan Lara, Ulysses, won by dec over Ismael Ramirez, Dodge City, 3-1

Championship: Tristen Porter, Wichita County, won by dec over Sebastian Rodriguez, Garden City, 5-2
3rd Place: Miguel Aguilera, Dodge City,  won by dec over Jagger Reese, Ulysses, 2-1

Championship: Justus McDaniel, Scott City, won by maj dec over Tiernan Poling, St. Francis, 15-6
3rd Place: Sebastian Munoz, Holcomb, won by dec over Julian Martinez, Garden City, 5-4

Championship: Kaden Wren, Scott City, won by dec over Juan Urbina, Ulysses, 5-2
3rd Place: Kade Lovelady, Lakin, won by maj dec over Kobe Tice, St. Francis, 9-1

Championship: Theron Tucker, Scott City, won by dec over Joaquin Castillo, Wichita County, 7-0
3rd Place: Elijah Blu Ruiz Hernandez, Garden City, won by fall over Colten Palmer, 0:41

Championship: Jesse Gardner, Wichita County, So. over Noah Kliesen, Scott City, 7-6
3rd Place: Alonso Martinez, Ulysses, won by dec over Kale Wheeler, Scott City, 11-4

Championship: Michael Mendoza, Hugoton, won by fall over Chandler Seaton, Wichita County, 1:56
3rd Place: Kysten Morrison, Boys Ranch, won by fall over Carter Coziahr, Hugoton, 1:19

Championship: Wyatt Hayes, Scott City, won by fall over Kayden Christiansen, Lakin, 1:13
3rd Place: Nick Holmes, Ulysses, won by dec over Aron Castillo, Wichita County, 4-3

Championship: Tanner Johnson, Holcomb, won by fall over Cale Goodman, Scott City, 1:24
3rd Place: Tristen Vega, Boys Ranch, won by dec over Shadyron Blanka, St. Francis, 5-2

Championship: Jace Garrison, Ulysses, won by fall over Dawson Aller, Lakin, 3:58
3rd Place: Al Abdelaziz, Boys Ranch, won by dec over Adolfo Mendoza, Ulysses, 8-4

Championship: Kyle Sherwood, Scott City, won by dec over David Cruz, Hugoton, 5-4
3rd Place: Ricardo Levario, Ulysses, won by fall over Seth Hilt, St. Francis, 2:51

Championship: Hadley Panzer, Lakin, won by dec over Ayston Perez, Ulysses, 1-0
3rd Place: Kody Edzards, Greeley County, won by fall over Zack Johnson, Brewster, 0:22