Scott City wrestling wins J.R. Durham Invitational

Norton, Kan. (–For the first time since 1995, the Scott City Beavers rolled into Norton and took home a tournament title. Powered by five individual champions, the Beavers were the first team other than Garden City, Hoxie, Manhattan, or Norton, to win the meet in the 21st century.

Leading by 10 points heading into the finals, Scott City pulled away in the finals, and knocked off Norton to win the 2019 J.R. Durhman Invitational, by 21 points. Five individuals took home titles for the Beavers. Zach Rohrbough at 106, Justus McDaniel at 132, Kaden Wren at 138, Theron Tucker at 145 and Wyatt Hayes at 170 won individual titles. Holcomb’s Tanner Johnson at 182 won an individual title.

Wyatt Hayes was named Most Outstanding Wrestler, as he won his third straight individual title in Norton. Hoxie’s Dayton Porsch has also won multiple tournament titles, winning his fourth.

Team Scores
Scott City 176, Norton 155, Cozad 128, Hoxie 108, Blue Valley 97.5, McCook 96, Beloit 91, Smith Center 78, Oberlin 72, Oakley 50, Marion 43, St. Francis 32, Holcomb 29.5, Rawlins County 23, Brewster 18, TMP Marian 5

Top Four Placers
Championship: Zach Rohrbough, Scott City, won by fall over Reece Grafel, Oberlin, 2:19
3rd Place: Darius Shields, Norton, won by fall over Jullian Stiver, McCook, 4:16

Zach Rohrbough, Scott City

Championship: Jace Russman, Cozad, won by maj dec over Colton Shoemaker, Smith Center, 10-0
3rd Place: Conner Armendariz, Scott City, won by dec over Kolton Field, Norton, 14-7

Championship: Drew Bell, Hoxie, won by fall over Carson Richards, McCook, 2:56
3rd Place: Michael Solomon, Blue Valley, won by dec over Garin Cooper, St. Francis, 6-4

Championship: Camdyn Underseher, Norton, won by dec over Drew Juenemann, Oberlin, 2-1
3rd Place: Talyn Campbell, McCook, won by dec over Luke Hyland, Blue Valley, 11-7

Championship: Justus McDaniel, Scott City, won by dec over Tiernan Poling, St. Francis, 4-0
3rd Place: Tate Kadel, Beloit, won by dec over Dylan Weimer, Hoxie 10-5

Justus McDaniel, Scott City

Championship: Kaden Wren, Scott City, won by fall over Bryce Gostwick, Blue Valley, 4:49
3rd Place: Jaden Atwood, Smith Center, won by fall over Breckin Loftin, Cozad, 1:32

Kaden Wren, Scott City

Championship: Theron Tucker, Scott City, won by fall over Aidan Baalman, Hoxie, 2:41
3rd Place: Kaleb Pohl, Cozad, won by inj def over Nick Mandl, Norton

Theron Tucker, Scott City

Championship: Zane Colson, Beloit, won by dec over Blake Hoffmaster, Cozad, 6-2
3rd Place: Noah Kliesen, Scott City, won by dec over Andrew Foote, Hoxie, 14-8

Championship: Dayton Porsch, Hoxie, won by fall over Brandon Vacura, Norton, 1:02
3rd Place: Brennan Walker, Beloit, won by fall dec over Aaron Moss, Smith Center, 3-2

Championship: Wyatt Hayes, Scott City, won by fall over Macoy Rains, Oakley, :19
3rd Place: Cole Amlong, Norton, won by dec over Connor Wescoat, Cozad, 5-3

Wyatt Hayes, Scott City

Championship: Tanner Johnson, Holcomb, won by dec over Alec Langan, 3-1
3rd Place: Mitchell Bartsch, Blue Valley, won by fall over Todd Palic, Marion, :50

Tanner Johnson, Holcomb

Championship: Judson Wiltfong, Norton, won by dec over River Paul, Beloit, 9-2
3rd Place: Jared Cole, McCook, won by dec over Cyrus Green, Rawlins County, 2-1

Championship: Hayden Wiltfong, Norton, won by fall over Charlie Nordquist, Marion, :31
3rd Place: Reegon Witt, Oberlin, won by dec over Kyle Sherwood, Scott City, 4-2

Championship: Josh StallBaumer, Cozad, won by fall over Zach Johnson, Brewster, 1:01
3rd Place: Brandon Baker, Hoxie, won by fall over Hunter Cunningham, McCook 1:16