Scott City third, Ulysses eighth, at Class 4A State Wrestling Tournament

Salina, Kan. (–While the weather was miserable outside the Tony’s Pizza Events Center Saturday on the final day of the Class 4A State Wrestling Tournament, the wrestling was still at its best. In the end, two area teams would find themselves in the top 10 of Class 4A. Scott City would place five wrestlers and take home the third place trophy, while the Ulysses Tigers placed four wrestlers and finished in eighth place. Hugoton would finish in 38th place, and would not place any wrestlers.

Marysville won the state title with seven wrestlers placing out of 10 qualified, while Winfield scored a good amount of points to rally to a second place finish, as they placed six wrestlers.

Scott City would take home two individual champions, as Justus McDaniel took the 138-pound title and Wyatt Hayes was the 170-pound champion. Both wrestlers are two-time state champions and three-time placers. Kaden Wren is a two-time finalists and finished second.

Ulysses had two wrestlers finish third. Juan Urbina would take home third at 138 and Ayston Perez was third at 285.

Team Scores
Marysville 112.5, Winfield 100, Scott City 92, Pratt 86, Frontenac 85.5, Chanute 82.5, Tonganoxie 76, Ulysses 74, Burlington 65.5, Andale 59, Holton 57, Buhler 52, Rose Hill 50, Paola 49, El Dorado 46.5, Abilene 45, Mulvane 43, Prairie View 42.5, Kansas City Piper 42, Santa Fe Trail 39, Fort Scott 35, Clearwater 33, Chapman 31, Ottawa 30, Louisburg 26, Wamego 24.5,Bishop Miege 24, Clay Center 22, Anderson County 21, Wellington 20.5, Concordia 20, Russell 17, Coffeyville-Field Kinley 14, Smoky Valley 14, Osawatomie 12, Perry-LeCompton 11, Augusta 8,  Hugoton 7, Eudora 6, Caney Valley 4, Hesston 4, Rock Creek 4, Girard 3, Jefferson West 3, Nickerson 3, Circle 3, Iola 1, Wichita-Trinity Academy 1, Labette County 0, Atchison 0, Independence 0, Larned 0, Parsons 0, Topeka-Hayden 0

Finals Results
Championship: Devon Weber, Pratt, won by decision over Trent Clements, Chanute, 5-2
3rd Place: Grayson Sonntag, Tonganoxie, won by decision over Quentin Pauda, Ulysses, 3-1
5th Place: Rhett Koppes, Clay Center, Jr. won by decision over Jake Barnes, Holton, 10-3

Quentin Pauda, Ulysses

Championship: Braden Ledford, Winfield, won by decision over William Stroda, Abilene, 2-1
3rd Place: Kolton Misener, Chanute, won by decision over Kyle Sackett, Rose Hill,  6-0
5th Place: Corbyn Pauda, Ulysses, won by fall over Chance Mitzner, Osawatomie,  4:27

Corbyn Pauda, Ulysses

Championship: Hector Serratos, Andale, won by decision over Chadwick Stahl Mulvane, 7-5
3rd Place: Christian Rowe, Santa Fe Trail, won by decision over Evan Totty, Burlington, 7-3
5th Place: Isaac Novotny, Marysville, won by fall over Chris Ray, Winfield, 1:45

Championship: Preston Martin, Paola, won by decision over Coby Burchett, Fort Scott, 7-0
3rd Place: Collin Creach, Ottawa, won by decision over Ethan Crownover, Marysville, 3-2
5th Place: Chandler Schoenberger, Russell, won by tech fall over Drew Brown, Wamego, 16-0

Championship: Justus McDaniel, Scott City, won by decision over Adam Whitson, Buhler, 10-3
3rd Place: Kolby Roush, Holton, won by fall over Adler Pierson, Wamego, 2:37
5th Place: Jacob Stinnett, Fort Scott, won by decision over Logan McDonald, Chanute, 5-3

Justus McDaniel, Scott City

Championship: Riley McDaniel, Frontenac, won by decision over Kaden Wren, Scott City, 10-6
3rd Place: Juan Urbina, Ulysses, won by fall over Jonny Crome, Marysville, 4:38
5th Place: Chance Price, Winfield, won by decision over Sam Elliott, Buhler, 10-6

Kaden Wren, Scott City

Juan Urbina, Ulysses

Championship: Darryl Rylant, Clearwater, won by decision over Mason Jameson, Frontenac, 4-1
3rd Place: Nick Elliott, Buhler, won by decision over Brady McDonald, Chanute, 5-4
5th Place: Dawson Chavez, Andale, won by fall over Theron Tucker, Scott City, 4:41

Theron Tucker, Scott City

Championship: Korbin Riedel, Tonganoxie, won by major decision over Cael Johnson, Burlington, 16-6
3rd Place: Brendan Ishimura, Frontenac, won by decision over Anthony Ferguson, Kansas City-Piper, 5-2
5th Place: Kadence Riner, Pratt, won by major decision over Brendan Ohlmeier, Paola, 10-2

Championship: Gavin Cullor, Prairie View, won by major decision over Jadon Koehler, Pratt, 10-1
3rd Place: David Leck, Rose Hill, won by decision over Hunter Schroeder, Concordia, 7-1
5th Place: Noah Ackerman, Marysville, won by decision over Kai Wernli, El Dorado, 5-3

Championship: Wyatt Hayes, Scott City, won by decision over Storm Slupianek, Marysville, 8-2
3rd Place: Dakotah Whiteley, Abilene, won by decision over Grant Scheer, Rose Hill, 7-0
5th Place: Hunter Boone, Prairie View, won by decision over Dax Hopp, Smoky Valley, 5-1

Wyatt Hayes, Scott City

Championship: Owen Braungardt, Winfield, won by decision over Brett Bober, Burlington 4-1
3rd Place: Konnor Tannahill, Holton, won by decision over Caden Blankenship, Pratt, SV-1 9-7
5th Place: Dominic Sutton, Anderson County, won by fall over Matt Lindhorst, Marysville, 2:56

Championship: Connor Searcy, Tonganoxie, won by decision over Garron Champoux, Marysville, 3-1
3rd Place: Brandon Barrager, Coffeyville-Field Kindley, won by decision over Dylan Ensch, Frontenac, 5-3
5th Place: Dalton Harvey, Chapman, won by decision over Sebastian Morrissey, Winfield, 6-2

Championship: Braden Morgan, El Dorado, won by technical fall over Zachery Ferris, Chapman, 15-0
3rd Place: Kenny Fehrman, Wellington, won by decision over Austin Moore, Louisburg, SV-1 3-1
5th Place: Kyle Sherwood, Scott City, won by decision over Zach Phillips, Winfield, 3-1

Kyle Sherwood, Scott City

Championship: Sean Ryan, Bishop Miege, won by decision over LeMoses White, Kansas City-Piper, 1-0
3rd Place: Ayston Perez, Ulysses, won by fall over Kyle Smith, Mulvane, 2:14
5th Place: Ethan Shackelford, Andale, won by forfeit over Qualin Powell, Chanute

Ayston Perez, Ulysses

Scott City Coach Aaron Dirks

Ulysses Coach Zach Pixler