June 16, 2024

25th Judicial District Nominating Commission seeks nominees for district judge vacancy

TOPEKA—The 25th Judicial District Nominating Commission is seeking nominations to fill a district judge vacancy in Finney County created by the upcoming December 27 retirement of Judge Michael Quint.

The 25th Judicial District is composed of Finney, Greeley, Hamilton, Kearny, Scott, and Wichita counties.

Justice Dan Biles, the Supreme Court departmental justice for the 25th Judicial District, said nominees can apply or be nominated, but it must be on a nomination form and include the nominee’s signature.

A nominee for district judge must be:

  • at least 30 years old;

  • a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas and engaged in the practice of law for at least five years, whether as a lawyer, judge, or full-time teacher at an accredited law school; and

  • a resident of the judicial district at the time of taking office and while holding office.

Nominations must be accompanied by a nomination form available from the clerk of the district court in Finney, Greeley, Hamilton, Kearny, Scott, and Wichita counties, the clerk of the appellate courts at the Kansas Judicial Center, or the Kansas judicial branch website at www.kscourts.orgunder What’s New.

One original and 14 copies of the completed nomination form and supporting letters must be submitted by noon Friday, September 6, to:

William Heydman, commission secretary

1519 E Fulton Terrace

PO Box 2010

Garden City KS 67846

The nominating commission will convene to interview nominees at 9 a.m. Wednesday, October 2, in the Finney County Courthouse, Room 301, 425 N Eighth St., Garden City. Interviews are open to the public.

The commission will select from three to five nominees whose names will be submitted to the governor to fill the position according to statutory qualification and residency requirements. If there are not three nominees who reside in the district who are deemed qualified by the commission, the commission may consider nominees who reside outside the judicial district. The governor has 60 days after receiving the names to decide whom to appoint.

After serving one year in office, the new judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position. If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term.

The 25th Judicial District Nominating Commission consists of Biles as the nonvoting chair; Lucille Douglas, William Heydman, John Lindner, Zachary Schultz, and Thomas Walker, Garden City; Gene Gaede, Holcomb; Ralph Goodnight, Lakin; Rita Wiles, Leoti; Christine Cupp, Scott City; Robert Gale Jr. and Timothy Kohart, Syracuse; and Deborah Kuttler, Tribune.