Expectations are high for this year’s Scott City volleyball team

0
1731

Scott City, Kan. (westernkansasnews.com)–You can tell that the 2019 Scott City Lady Beaver volleyball squad is looking to set the bar higher. Two days in, the Lady Beavers have produced some intense practices. This years team has around 25 players.

Three seniors step in to take the leadership roles, to go along with a junior caption, on a team that could have a solid seven-player rotation. There’s no question that a disappointing finish to a 26-11 2018 season has fueled the Scott City squad, who has seven practices remaining before the season starts.

Shelby Kite begins her third season as the Lady Beaver head coach, as Scott City has advanced to the Class 3A semi-finals of sub-state in each of her first two seasons. The Lady Beavers have had three straight seasons of at least 25 wins. Lauren Robinson and Sarah McCormick return as assistants for the program for a second consecutive year.

Scott City will be tested early on Saturday, August 31, as they will compete in the Hays High Invitational. This is a new tournament on their schedule this year.

Varsity Schedule
Friday, August 30 Oakley Triangular with Wallace County
Saturday, August 31 Hays High Invitational
Tuesday, September 10 Ulysses Dual
Thursday, September 12 Hoxie Triangular
Tuesday, September 17 Home Triangular with Goodland, Lakin
Thursday, September 19 Colby Triangular with Hoxie
Thursday, September 26 @ LaCrosse Dual
Saturday, September 28 Kinsley Triangular with Southwestern Heights
Thursday, October 3 GWAC Triangular @ Hugoton
Thursday, October 10 GWAC Quadrangular @ Holcomb
Saturday, October 12 Scott City Invitational
Tuesday, October 15 Cimarron Quadrangular
Saturday, October 19 GWAC Tournament @ Colby

Junior Alli Brunswig

Senior Shelby Patton

Senior Lyndi Rumford

Senior Emily Weathers