June 12, 2024

Leoti woman selected for district magistrate judge vacancy in Wichita County

Office of Judicial Administration

TOPEKA—The 25th Judicial District Nominating Commission has selected Korina Wedel of Leoti to fill a magistrate judge vacancy in Wichita County.

The commission conducted public interviews of nominees for the position October 9 in Leoti. Three people had applied for the opening.

Wedel’s new position will be effective upon her swearing-in. She is a former clerk of the district court for Wichita County.

The 25th Judicial District is composed of Finney, Greeley, Hamilton, Kearny, Scott, and Wichita counties.

The vacancy was created by the July 31 resignation of Judge Janna DeLissa.

Kansas law requires that a district magistrate judge be:

  • a resident of Wichita County at the time of taking office and while holding office
  • at least 30 years old
  • a graduate of a high school, a secondary school, or the equivalent;
  • and either a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas or able to pass an examination given by the Supreme Court to become certified within 18 months.

After serving one year in office, the new magistrate judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position. If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term.

The 25th Judicial District Nominating Commission consists of Supreme Court Justice Dan Biles as the nonvoting chair; Lucille Douglas, William Heydman, John Lindner, Zachary Schultz, and Thomas Walker, Garden City; Gene Gaede, Holcomb; Ralph Goodnight, Lakin; Rita Wiles, Leoti; Christine Cupp, Scott City; Robert Gale Jr. and Timothy Kohart, Syracuse; and Deborah Kuttler, Tribune.