June 16, 2024

GWAC All-League Football selections released

Scott City, Kan. (westernkansasnews.com)–The Great West Activities Conference has announced their All-League football selections for the 2019 season. Scott City would had the most selections with 14, followed by Colby with 13 and Hugoton picked up 10 selections. The Beavers picked up eight first team selections on offense, defense and special teams, while Colby had six and both Hugoton and Ulysses had five picks.

Colby won the GWAC title outright, going 5-0 in league competition. It was their first time winning the league, while Scott City finished runner-up with a 4-1 record.

Great West Activities Conference Selections
1st Team
Quarterback: Leyton Cure, Goodland
Wide Receiver: Trey Cox, Holcomb; Trevor Bogan, Hugoton
Running Back: Calvin Stapp, Colby; Cale Goodman, Scott City; Nick Holmes, Ulysses
Tight End: Devon Hill, Holcomb; Jackson Lewis, Scott City
Offensive Line: Aaron Kurth, Colby; Oz Perez, Holcomb; Michael Mendoza, Hugoton; Gabe Bowers, Scott City;
Colten Cupp, Scott City
All-Purpose: Parker Gooden, Scott City
Defensive Line: Hagan Booi, Colby; Oz Perez, Holcomb; Ivan Valles, Hugoton; Gabe Bowers, Scott City; Caleb VanDegrift, Scott City; Brandon Winderlin, Scott City
Linebacker: Landon Rinehart, Colby; Austin Dale, Hugoton; Hunter Yager, Scott City; Koy Kenny, Ulysses
Defensive Back: Calvin Stapp, Colby; Leyton Cure, Goodland; Trevor Bogan, Hugoton; Kevin Serrano, Scott City;
Edgar Soto, Ulysses
Special Teams
Kicker: Maurice Ochoa, Ulysses
Punter: Jett Moyer, Ulysses
Kick & Punt Returner: Calvin Stapp, Colby

Honorable Mention
Quarterback: Sawyer Harper, Hugoton
Wide Receiver: Thane Wildeman, Colby; Haden Daharsh, Hugoton; Oscar Martinez, Ulysses
Running Back: Hagan Booi, Colby; Austin Dale, Hugoton; Hunter Yager, Scott City
Offensive Line: Rowdy Farr, Colby; Ian Rosales, Colby; Jace Tweedy, Holcomb; Jonathan Roa, Hugoton; Taylor
Heili, Scott City; Jace Garrison, Ulysses
All-Purpose: Calvin Stapp, Colby

Defensive Line: Cade Lanning, Colby; Rowdy Farr, Colby; Devon Hill, Holcomb; Dawson Hudson, Ulysses
Linebacker: Mason Murray, Goodland; Gaige Salazar, Holcomb; Cale Goodman, Scott City; Jackson Lewis, Scott City
Defensive Back: Konner Griffin, Colby; Ashton Burrows, Hugoton; Blaine Culp, Scott City; Jett Moyer, Ulysses
Special Teams
Kicker: Alexis Reyes, Scott City
Punter: Trey Cox, Holcomb
Kick & Punt Returner: Levi Knoll, Holcomb