June 23, 2024

Nominees sought for district magistrate judge vacancy in Finney County

Office of Judicial Administration

TOPEKA—The 25th Judicial District Nominating Commission is seeking nominations to fill a district magistrate judge vacancy in Finney County.

The vacancy was created when District Magistrate Judge Christopher Sanders was named to succeed District Judge Michael Quint, who is retiring December 27.

The 25th Judicial District is composed of Finney, Greeley, Hamilton, Kearny, Scott, and Wichita counties.

Justice Dan Biles, the Supreme Court departmental justice responsible for the 25th Judicial District, said nominees can apply or be nominated, but it must be on a nomination form and include the nominee’s signature.

Kansas law requires that a district magistrate judge be:

  • a resident of Finney County at the time of taking office and while holding office;

  • at least 30 years old;

  • a graduate of a high school, a secondary school, or the equivalent; and

  • either a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas or able to pass an examination given by the Supreme Court to become certified within 18 months.

Nominations must be accompanied by a nomination form available from the clerk of the district court in Finney, Greeley, Hamilton, Kearny, Scott, and Wichita counties; the clerk of the appellate courts at the Kansas Judicial Center; or the Kansas judicial branch website at www.kscourts.org under What’s New.

One original and 14 copies of the completed nomination form and supporting letters must be submitted by noon Friday, January 17, to:

William Heydman, commission secretary

1519 E Fulton Terrace

P.O. Box 2010

Garden City KS 67846

The nominating commission will convene to interview nominees at 9 a.m. Friday, February 7, in the Finney County Courthouse, Room 301, 425 N Eighth St., Garden City. Interviews are open to the public. The commission will then appoint a district magistrate judge.

After serving one year in office, the new magistrate judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position. If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term.

The 25th Judicial District Nominating Commission consists of Biles as the nonvoting chair; Lucille Douglas, William Heydman, John Lindner, Zachary Schultz, and Thomas Walker, Garden City; Gene Gaede, Holcomb; Ralph Goodnight, Lakin; Rita Wiles, Leoti; Christine Cupp, Scott City; Robert Gale Jr. and Timothy Kohart, Syracuse; and Deborah Kuttler, Tribune.