June 23, 2024

Scott City wins 56th Ron Smith Invitational

Ulysses, Kan. (westernkansasnews.com)–In their second weekend of competition of the year, teams made their way to Ulysses on Saturday for the 56th Annual Ron Smith Invitational. Thirteen teams from three different states took part in the tournament. This year’s tournament was moved to a one-day tournament, and featured some of the top wrestlers in their classifications.

Scott City would take the top spot with 249 points, while Ulysses was second with 205. The Beavers would take six individual titles, including Evan Fry at 106, Brandon Roberts at 120, Zach Rohrbough at 126, Justus McDaniel at 138, Kaden Wren at 145, and Cale Goodman at 182. Ulysses finished with four individual champions, including Quentin Pauda at 113, Nick Holmes at 170, Jace Garrison at 220 and Ayston Perez at 285. Hugoton, who finished fourth, saw Michael Mendoza take the 152-pound weight class. Jesse Gardner from Wichita County won the 160-pound division, as the Indians placed fifth. Garden City was sixth, as they had one individual champion, as Sebastian Rodriguez won at 132 pounds. 

Team Scores
Scott City 249; Ulysses 205; Boys Ranch, TX 129; Hugoton 105; Wichita County 74.5; Garden City 67;.5 St. Francis 60.5; Lakin 39.5; Liberal 30; Brewster 27; Baca County, CO 26; Holcomb 14, Greeley County 8

Final Results
Championship: Evan Fry, Scott City, won by fall over Alex Bennett, Garden City, :46
3rd Place: Mana Chanthasane, Liberal, won by fall over Bryon Peavy, Boys Ranch, 5:06

Championship: Quentin Pauda, Ulysses, won by fall over Luis Guzman, Hugoton, 2:50
3rd Place: Nathan Reimer, Lakin, won by dec over Zach Roberts, Scott City, 15-13

120 (Round Robin)
1. Brandon Roberts, Scott City; 2. Robert Dylan Hefner, Boys Ranch; 3. Luis Cruz, Hugoton; 4th. Houston Hayes, Lakin

Championship: Zach Rohrbough, Scott City, won by maj dec over Jonathan Lara, Ulysses, 13-0
3rd Place: Levi Hancock, Baca Co, won by fall over  Bly Gosch, Lakin, 0:43

Championship: Sebastian Rodriguez, Garden City, won by dec over Garin Cooper, St. Francis, 5-3
3rd Place: Dylan Fulton, Scott City, won by fall over Drake Anguiano, Ulysses, 2:10

Championship: Kaden Wren, Scott City, won by fall over Jagger Reese, Ulysses, 0:54
3rd Place: Devon Gray, Boys Ranch, won by fall over Adam Mendoza, Hugoton, 4:46 

Championship: Justus McDaniel, Scott City, won by tech fall over John McBride, Boys Ranch, 15-0
3rd Place: Tristen Porter, Wichita County, won by dec over Colin Kleysteuber, Garden City, 8-2

Championship: Michael Mendoza, Hugoton, won by fall over Kysten Morrison, Boys Ranch, 2:43
3rd Place: Alonso Marquez, Garden City, won by fall over Roman Garcia, Ulysses, 2:45

Championship: Jesse Gardner, Wichita County, won by fall over Jordan Grey, Boys Ranch, 3:55
3rd Place: Kale Wheeler, Scott City, won by fall over Jayce Nider, St. Francis, 0:52

Championship: Nick Holmes, Ulysses, won by dec over Caleb Vandegrift, Scott City, 2-1
3rd Place: Lance Miller, Scott City, won by dec over Aron Castillo, Wichita County, 5-2

Championship: Cale Goodman, Scott City, won by dec over Chandler Seaton, Wichita County, 9-3
3rd Place: Abraham Garcia, Hugoton, won by fall over Justin Degollado, Ulysses, 4:24

Championship: Shadryon Blanka, St. Francis, won by dec over Alex Corpus, Ulysses, 8-4
3rd Place: Adolfo Mendoza, Ulysses, won by dec over Kameron Shannon, Boys Ranch, 5-0

Championship: Jace Garrison, Ulysses, won by fall over Alonso Frances, Scott City, 2:53
3rd Place: Ryan Hause, Brewster, won by fall over David Tidwell, Garden City, 2:21

Championship: Ayston Perez, Ulysses, won by fall over Gabe Bowers, Scott City, 0:41
3rd Place: Gerardo Rubio, Hugoton, won by fall over Jeison Coreno, Hugoton, 5:31