March 4, 2024

25th Judicial District Nominating Commission to interview nominees for magistrate judge vacancy in Finney County

State of Kansas Office of Judicial Administration

TOPEKA—The 25th Judicial District Nominating Commission will convene Friday, February 7, to interview nominees to fill a district magistrate judge vacancy in Finney County. 

The vacancy was created when District Magistrate Judge Christopher Sanders was named to succeed District Judge Michael Quint, who retired December 27.

The 25th Judicial District is composed of Finney, Greeley, Hamilton, Kearny, Scott, and Wichita counties.

The nominating commission will convene at 9 a.m. Friday, February 7. Interviews will take place at:

Finney County Courthouse

425 N Eighth St., Room 301

Garden City

Interviews are open to the public. Once interviews are complete, the commission will appoint the  district magistrate judge.

The nominees are:

  • Eloy Gallegos, lawyer, Garden City
  • Jeremy J. Gigot, nonlawyer, Garden City
  • Victoria S. Meyer, lawyer, Kansas City
  • Amy Ortiz, nonlawyer, Garden City
  • Brian R. Sherwood, lawyer, Garden City
  • Timothy R. Woods, lawyer, Dodge City

Kansas law requires that a district magistrate judge be:

  • a resident of Finney County at the time of taking office and while holding office;

  • a graduate of a high school, a secondary school, or the equivalent; and

  • either a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas or able to pass an examination given by the Supreme Court to become certified within 18 months.

After serving one year in office, the new magistrate judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position. If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term.

The 25th Judicial District Nominating Commission consists of Biles as the nonvoting chair; Lucille Douglas, William Heydman, John Lindner, Zachary Schultz, and Thomas Walker, Garden City; Gene Gaede, Holcomb; Ralph Goodnight, Lakin; Rita Wiles, Leoti; Christine Cupp, Scott City; Robert Gale Jr. and Timothy Kohart, Syracuse; and Deborah Kuttler, Tribune.