Hoxie wins J.R. Durham Invitational, Scott City wins two weight classes

Norton, Kan. (westernkansasnews.com)–Area southwest Kansas teams made their way to Norton on Saturday for the annual J.R. Durham Invitational Tournament. For many, it was their first competition in three weeks, and two area wrestlers would take home individual titles.

Scott City would place two at the top, as Kaden Wren won the 138-pound weight division, and Noah Kliesen won the 152-pound class. For Wren, it was his third straight tournament title in Norton. Kliesen won the finals in a way that is rare. He was trailing in the third period 6-4, and was able to arch back and pick up a defensive fall to win his second tournament title of the year. 

Wren was named the Most Outstanding Wrestler of the tournament, his second award won in Norton, as he won the award his sophomore year. 

Hoxie won the team title with 187 points, while Norton finished second with 163 and Weld Central was third with 127.5 points. Scott City finished in fifth.

Team Scores
Hoxie 187; Norton 163; Weld Central, CO 127.5; Beloit 126; Scott City 121; Smith Center 100; Oakley 60; McCook, NE 55; Cozad, NE 45; Oberlin 43; Southeast of Saline 35.5; Rawlins County 25; Lakin 18; St. Francis 18; Holcomb 12; Brewster 8; TMP-Marian 4

Final Placers
106 (Round Robin)
1. Roberto Estrada, Weld Central; 2. Darius Shields, Norton; 3. Wayne Shephard, Hoxie; 4. Josh Juenemann, Oberlin; 5. Evan Fry, Scott City; 6. Bryson Bussinger, Cozad

Championship: Dayton Bell, Hoxie won by fall over Bentley Montgomery, Smith Center, 3:53
3rd Place: Connor Cosand, Beloit, won by maj dec over Nathan Reimer, Lakin, 13-1

Championship: Kolton Field, Norton, won by dec over Colton Shoemaker, Smith Center, 14-12, OT
3rd Place: Andrew Bretz, Hoxie, won by maj dec over Brandon Roberts, Scott City, 9-1

Championship: Drew Bell, Hoxie, won by dec over Andrew Wilkinson, Smith Center, 4-0
3rd Place: Zach Rohrbough, Scott City, won by fall over Tyler Schoenberger, Oakley, 1:48

Championship: Derek Johnson, Hoxie, won by dec over Camdyn Unterseher, Norton, 2-0
3rd Place: Isaac White, Cozad, won by dec over Alex Eskew, Oberlin, 7-5 SV

Championship: Kaden Wren, Scott City, won by dec over Dylan Weimer, H
3rd Place tie: Nick Mandl, Norton and Eric Cain, Oakley

Kaden Wren, Scott City

Championship: Tate Kadel, Beloit, won by dec over Levi Gerkin, Weld Central, 10-3
3rd Place: Aidan Stephenson, Oakley, won by fall over Garrett Urban, Norton, 1:45

Championship: Noah Kliesen, Scott City, won by fall over Kolton Robertson, Weld Central, 5:26
3rd Place: Aidan Baalman, Hoxie, won by fall over Hunter Prochaska, Beloit, 4:21

Noah Kliesen, Scott City

Championship: Tanner Baumgartner, Weld Central, won by maj dec over Jacob Conrad, Smith Center, 12-3
3rd Place: Matthew Rodriguez, Southeast of Saline, won by dec over Andrew Foote, Hoxie, 6-2

Championship: Cole Amlong, Norton, won by maj dec over Gavon Uehlin, Oberlin, 14-6
3rd Place: Caleb VanDegrift, Scott City, won by dec over Jonathan Temaat, Oakley, 5-3

Championship: Braeden Baumbartner, Weld Central, won by dec over Brennan Walker, Beloit, 4-2 Tiebreaker
3rd Place: Kayden Christiansen, Lakin, won by fall over Donovan Balluch, Hoxie, 2:19

Championship: Alec Langan, McCook, won by dec over Sterling Harp, Southeast of Saline, 5-1
3rd Place: Braden Burks, Beloit, won by dec over Gavin Sproul, Norton, 5-2

Championship: Judson Wiltfong, Norton, won by fall over Brandon Baker, Hoxie, 3:03
3rd Place: Cade Stott, Cozad, won by dec over Cameron Konkel, Beloit, 3-2

285 (Round Robin)
1. Creighton Johnson, Beloit; 2. Gabe Bowers, Scott City; 3. Reid Steinbeck, McCook; 4. Marcus Lagree, TMP-Marian; 5. Jade Brown, Cozad