June 21, 2024

Rosters released for Kansas Shrine Bowl Game

(Courtesy of the Kansas Shrine Bowl)


The Kansas Shrine Bowl Board of Directors would like to announce the East and West teams for the 2020 Kansas Shrine Bowl. These players have been invited to participate in the 47th Annual Kansas Shrine Bowl to be played at Yager Stadium at Moore Bowl, on the campus of Washburn University in Topeka, Kansas on Saturday, July 18th at 7 p.m.

The 2020 Head Coaches, as selected by votes from the 2019 coaching staff, trainers, managers and camp directors, are Washburn Rural’s Steve Buhler for the East and Goddard’s Tommy Beason, leading the West. The Assistant coaches for the East team are; 6A Assistant, Jesse Owen (Olathe East); 5A Assistant, Brian King (DeSoto); 4A Assistant, Mike Dumpert (Paola); 3A Assistant, Mike Paramore (Perry-Lecompton); 2A Assistant, Johnny Mallatt (Riverton), 1A Assistant, Larry Glatczak (Centralia). The East coaching staff had a combined record of 58-20 in 2019, including a State Runner-Up and State Champion. The East staff has a combined nine Kansas Shrine Bowl coaching appearances, include two previous head coaches. Larry Glatczak lead the East in 2011 and Head Coach Steve Buhler also led the East back in 2012.

Assistant coaches for the West team are; 6A Assistant, Weston Shartz (Wichita West); 5A Assistant, Erin Beck (Great Bend); 4A Assistant, Derek Tuttle (Andover Central); 3A Assistant, Shelby Wehrman (Cheney); 2A Assistant, Lucas Melvin (Norton); 1A Assistant, Jeff Werner (Sedgwick). The West Coaching staff had a combined 54-25 record in 2019, with two State Runner-Up finishes. The staff also has a combined four Kansas Shrine Bowl coaching appearances, including the West Squad’s 2003 Head Coach Weston Shartz.
Players are selected each year by a combination of media votes and selections from the Kansas Shrine Bowl Coaching Staff. Players must be nominated by their high school coach or athletic director. The players selected to the 2020 Kansas Shrine Bowl join the 3,088 players who have participated in the annual event since 1974. “We are very excited about
the great group of young men selected for this year’s game,” Said B.J. Harris, Executive Director of the Kansas Shrine Bowl. “These players and coaches now have an incredible opportunity ahead of them, one that is sure to have a lasting impact in their life.”
“I’m excited that so many of our players come with high praise from their coaches and their communities,” said Tommy Beason, West Head Coach. “These are great young people with a bright future and our staff is excited to share this Shrine Bowl experience with them.”
“The 2020 East team is a very athletic group that is extremely versatile. All these players had successful high school careers impacting their teams on both sides of the ball.” Said Steve Buhler, East Head Coach. “This versatility will allow the coaching staff more flexibility in preparing offensive and defensive schemes as well as filling special teams, which is
important when you are putting together a 36-player roster.”

The Kansas Shrine Bowl is an all-star high school senior, East vs. West, football game put on each year in Kansas, by the Kansas Shrine. It is a 501(c) 3 non-profit charity that produces annual events and related activities, with net proceeds benefiting Shriners Hospitals for Children. The Kansas Shrine Bowl has sent over $3M to Shriners Hospitals for Children.

The game has been played throughout Kansas each summer since 1974. Host cities have included Lawrence, Manhattan, Wichita, Topeka, Hays, Emporia, Pittsburg and Dodge City. The West football team camp will be held at Bethany College
in Lindsborg, Kansas, and the East will be held at Ottawa University in Ottawa, Kansas. The East Camp Directors are Jack Call and Tim Williams. The West Camp Directors are Richard Steele and Drew Couch.

Beginning in 1974, the flagship event has been the East/West All-Star Football Game. As of 2019, the West leads the series with 28 wins, the East has 17 wins, and there has been one tie. Notable alumni include former All-Pro Wide Receiver Jordy Nelson, NFL Hall of Famer Barry Sanders, former Kansas State and Kansas City Chiefs Linebacker Gary
Spani, former Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year and Super Bowl Champion Linebacker Mark Simoneau and many others.

The Kansas Shrine Bowl also includes the Kansas Masonic All-State Marching band camp, held annually at each host site. The week also includes the Kansas Shrine Bowl Cheer Camp, which culminates with performances at each game. Other bowl weekend activities include, the Kansas Shrine Bowl Banquet, the state’s largest Shrine Parade, Shriner’s
Hospitals for Children Free Screening Clinic, Strong Legs Run 5K & Walk, Junior All-Star Challenge (ages 5–14), High School Football Combine/Clinic and 4-Man Golf Scramble.
All Shrine Bowl events are produced and presented to benefit Shriners Hospitals for Children [SHC]. SHC is a health care system of 22 hospitals dedicated to improving the lives of children by providing pediatric specialty care, innovative research, and outstanding teaching programs for medical professionals. Children up to the age of 18 are eligible for care and receive all services in a family-centered environment, regardless of the patients’ ability to pay. The 47th Annual Kansas Shrine Bowl will be played Saturday, July 18th, 2020 at Yager Stadium at Moore Bowl on the campus of Washburn University in Topeka, Kansas. Kickoff will be at 7:00 pm. Tickets and additional information are available at www.kansasshrinebowl.com or by calling 913-602-8656