Chanute wins Class 4A State Wrestling Title; Scott City’s Wren wins 1st title

Salina, Kan. (–This weekend’s Class 4A State Wrestling Tournament at the Tony’s Pizza Center saw many ups and downs throughout the weekend. There were the upsets, and the results that were to be expected. In the end, Chanute would win their first state wrestling championship with a dominating performance. From southwest Kansas, five area wrestlers would place, including a state champion.

The Comets were over 100 points in the first day, and grew their lead in the final day, as the dethroned Marysville, who placed second as a team. Andale would take the third spot. Scott City came in eighth place and Ulysses at ninth as a team. It would be the second straight year that both teams would place in the top 10 in Class 4A.

Out of 18 wrestlers in area that made it to state, five placed. Scott City had three of those wrestlers. Kaden Wren had been in the finals for two previous seasons, and was looking for that elusive title. He would dominate the match, as he picked up that title in his third straight finals appearance, with an 11-0 win in the 138-pound weight class. Senior Justus McDaniel at 145 pounds had a tough weekend, battling through an injury, that would effect him, and he ended up placing sixth. Gabe Bowers at 285 pounds battled his way through the backside on Saturday, and closed out his season with a fifth place finish.

For Ulysses, they would place two wrestlers this weekend. Coming off a tough semi-final loss on Friday night, Quentin Pauda would pin his way to third place at 106 pounds. Ayston Perez, who had been the top ranked wrestler, was ahead in his finals match, but got reversed and pinned, giving him a second place finish at 285 pounds in his third tournament of his career. 

Team Scores
Chanute 151, Marysville 94, Andale 88.5, Tonganoxie 73, Holton 65, KC-Piper 61, Winfield 59.5, Scott City 57, Ulysses 56.5, Iola 51, Mulvane 48, Rose Hill 48, Paola 46, Pratt 45.5, Augusta 44, Wellington 38, El Dorado 36, Colby 35.5, Santa Fe Trail 35, Clay Center 34.5, Frontenac 34.5, Ottawa 34, Wamego 32, Louisburg 31, Abilene 30, Burlington 30, Concordia 29, Buhler 25, Fort Scott 24, Prairie View 24, Osawatomie 19.5, Chapman 18, Girard 18, Baldwin 17, Eudora 17, Nickerson 17, Atchison 16, Smoky Valley 15, Rock Creek 9, Caney Valley 8, Coffeyville-Field Kindley 7.5, Independence 7.5, Anderson County 7, Columbus 6, Jefferson West 6, Hesston 3, Hugoton 3, Bishop Miege 3, Circle 3, Holcomb 1, Labette County 0, Clearwater 0

Final Results
Championship: Trent Clements, Chanute, won by dec over Rhett Koppes, Clay Center, 8-5
3rd Place: Quentin Pauda, Ulysses, won by fall over Ryan Pankov, Paola, 2:26
5th Place: Hunter Dietrich, Mulvane, won by dec over Andy Lin, Augusta, 5-4

Quentin Pauda, Ulysses

Championship: Devon Weber, Pratt, won by dec over Kolton Misener, Chanute, 2-0
3rd Place: Grady Fox, Augusta, won by dec over Caleb Pavlacka, Andale, 3-2
5th Place: Jake Barnes, Holton, won by dec over Jacob Stanton, Caney Valley, 3-0

Championship: Grayson Sonntag, Tonganoxie, won by dec over Chadwick Stahl, Mulvane, 10-6
3rd Place: Chance Mitzner, Osawatomie, won by fall over Ryan Owens, Louisburg, 2:52
5th Place: Tyler Voss, Colby, won by dec over Trey Dillow, Chanute, 2-1

Championship: Hector Serratos, Andale, won by dec over Braden Ledford, Winfield, 5-2
3rd Place: William Stroda, Abilene, won by fall over Isaac Novotny, Marysville, 1:48
5th Place: Cade Holtzen, Louisburg, won by fall over Colton Seely, Chanute, 1:37

Championship: Preston Martin, Paola, won by dec over Collin Creach, Ottawa, 5-0
3rd Place: Christian Rowe, Santa Fe Trail, won by dec over Keegan Beavers, Rose Hill, 8-4
5th Place: Ty Leedy, Chanute, won by fall over Koda Dipman, Pratt, 1:19

Championship: Kaden Wren, Scott City, won by maj dec over Kolby Roush, Holton, 11-0
3rd Place: Jacob Sinnett, Fort Scott, won by dec over Adler Pierson, Wamego, 4-3
5th Place: Holden Andrews, Eudora, won by fall over Dawson Lapping, Frontenac, 1:51

Kaden Wren, Scott City

Championship: Jonny Crome, Marysville, won by fall over Garrett Davis, Augusta, 1:26
3rd Place: Gabriel Bailey, Tonganoxie, won by dec over Trent Jones, Iola, 1-0
5th Place: Logan McDonald, Chanute, won by inj def over Justus McDaniel, Scott City 

Justus McDaniel, Scott City

Championship: Sam Elliott, Buhler, won by fall over Wil Jameson, Frontenac, 1:58
3rd Place: Jake Knowles, El Dorado, won by dec over Dawson Chavez, Andale, 9-4
5th Place: Chance Price, Winfield, won by dec over Brady McDonald, Chanute, 4-2

Championship: Anthony Ferguson, KC-Piper, won by dec over Parker Winder, Chanute, UTB 4-3
3rd Place: Cael Johnson, Burlington, won by fall over Hayden Oviatt, Wamego, 1:32
5th Place: Eli Aouad, Andale, won by dec over Drew Burenheide, Rock Creek, 7-0

Championship: David Leck, Rose Hill, won by dec over Steele Morin, Winfield, 3-1
3rd Place: Kai Wernli, El Dorado, won by fall over Noah Ackerman, Marysville, 4:00
5th Place: LaJames White, KC Piper, won by dec over Jarin Gomez, Nickerson, 8-4

Championship: Brayden Dillow, Chanute, won by dec over Hunter Schroeder, Concordia, 7-3
3rd Place: Branden Martin, KC Piper, won by dec over Durbie McReynolds, Girard, 4-2
5th Place: Dairies Aho, Ottawa, won by dec over Storm Suplianek, Marysville, 1-0

Championship: Konnor Tannahill, Holton, won by fall over Chanz Gerleman, Prairie View, 1:51
3rd Place: Kanden Young, Wellington, won by dec over Garron Champoux, Marysville, 4-2
5th Place: Hagan Booi, Colby, won by dec over Tanner Luttig, Smoky Valley, 9–2

Championship: Connor Searcy, Tonganoxie, won by fall over Cayden Winter, Andale, 3:04
3rd Place: Kenny Ferman, Wellington, won by dec over Zachery Ferris, Chapman, 8-4
5th Place: Zach Phillips, Winfield, won by dec over Dallas Higginbotham, Anderson County, 1-0

Championship: Logan Brown, Iola, won by fall over Ayston Perez, Ulysses, 3:52
3rd Place: Evan Dean, Santa Fe Trail, won by dec over Nick Funk, Atchison, 4-1
5th Place: Gabe Bowers, Scott City, won by dec over Hunter Scott, Mulvane, 3-0

Ayston Perez, Ulysses

Gabe Bowers, Scott City

Scott City Coach Aaron Dirks

Ulysses Coach Zach Pixler