June 20, 2024

Scott City closes out regular season win dual win over Cimarron

Scott City, Kan. (westernkansasnews.com)—Scott City would host Cimarron on Thursday night at the Scott Community Event Center, as both teams would have their final tuneup of the regular season. Also wrestling tonight would be the Scott City Takedown Club and the Gray County Wrestling Club. 

Five seniors would take the mat for final time in Scott City, and would lead the No. 3 ranked team in Class 4A to a 53-18 victory over the Bluejays.

Out of the 11 head to head matchups, Scott City would win eight of the matches, with seven resulting in a pin. Cimarron won three of the head to head meetings, winning two of them by decision. 

The Beavers would win two exhibition matches over the Bluejays.

Also wrestling were 11 matchups featuring the future high school wrestlers between the Gray County Wrestling Club and the Scott City Takedown Club. The Gray County Takedown Club won nine of the matches, that featured wrestlers ages 10 and under, and wrestlers weighing between 43 and 76 pounds. 

Scott City will head to the Class 4A Regional in Concordia next Friday and Saturday, February 20 and 21, while Cimarron heads to Norton for the Class 321A Regional those same dates. 

Scott City 53, Cimarron 18

106: Indic Duncan, Cimarron, won by forfeit
113: Aaron Garcia, Cimarron, won by dec over Zach Roberts, Scott City, 11-9
120: Both teams open
126: Zach Rohrbough, Scott City, won by fall over Gage Millershaski, Cimarron, :51
132: Dylan Fulton, Scott City, won by technical fall over Zach Harmon, Cimarron, 16-0
138: Kaden Wren, Scott City, won by fall over Colby Johnson, Cimarron, :50
145: Justus McDaniel, Scott City, won by fall over Eli Greene, Cimarron, 2:37
152: Noah Kliesen, Scott City, won by fall over Alex Sefried, Cimarron, :27
160: Kale Wheeler, Scott City, won by fall over Kyler Henry, Cimarron, 2:27
170: Tate Seabolt, Cimarron, won by dec over Caleb VanDegrift, Scott City, 1-0
182: Cale Goodman, Scott City, won by fall over Jarret Bonner, Cimarron, :41
195: Jeffrey Nix, Scott City, won by forfeit
220: David Harmon, Cimarron, won by fall over Alonso Frances, Scott City, 2:38
285: Gabe Bowers, Scott City, won by fall over Kyle Spurgin, Cimarron, :48