March 4, 2024

Join Us For The University/Training Center Grand Opening

Dodge City/Ford County Development Corporation

Dodge City, KS- The Rural Education and Workforce Alliance (REWA) is excited to announce the Grand Opening on August 5th from 4-6pm of the University/Training Center.

The Grand Opening will include guest speakers, Dodge City Mayor Joyce Warshaw, Ford County Commissioner Chairman Chris Boys, Assistant City Manager Melissa McCoy, Executive Director of the Dodge City/Ford County Development Corporation Joann Knight, Senator Bud Estes, Executive Director of University of Kansas’ Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center (KLETC) Dr. Darin Beck, Associate Professor/Assistant Chair Department of Nursing at Fort Hays State University (FHSU) Dr. Tanya Smith, Chair of Department of Social Work at (FHSU) Dr. Timothy Davis, and Executive Director of the Scott County Development Committee Katie Eisenhour.  The presentations will be followed by a ribbon cutting by the Dodge City Area Chamber of Commerce.

The newly remodeled University/Training Center will be used for higher education courses and workforce trainings. In August REWA will be launching out of the University/Training Center the Fort Hays State University’s (FHSU) Master of Social Work and the FHSU RN to BSN program.  “We are excited to be working with the Universities to provide a hybrid delivery of classes to meet the workforce needs” says REWA Coordinator Kyla Keller.  “We look forward to partnering with more Universities to fill the workforce gaps in Southwest Kansas”.  The programs are designed for students with their associate degrees already offered through area community colleges and the working adult that desires to further their professional education.

We are also excited to announce the expansion of KLETC into Southwest Kansas.  KLETC is permanently moving into the University/Training Center to provide law enforcement training for the Western Kansas region.   

This project is made possible by sponsors/grants from the City of Dodge City, Ford County, United States Department of Agriculture (USDA), Dodge City/Ford County Development Corporation, Community Foundation of Southwest Kansas, Scroggins Foundation, Kansas Health Foundation and Patterson Family Foundation.