July 14, 2024

Parity Prevails Leading into Friday’s Driver & Fan Appreciation Night at DCRP

(Courtesy of Dodge City Raceway Park)

DODGE CITY, Kan. — Through three nights of racing action at Dodge City Raceway Park thus far in 2020, the outcome has been as unpredictable as ever.

In 15 total feature events across the five championship chase divisions there has been 15 different winners.  No repeat winners to be found as of yet.

At least one of those 15 will hope to break through to become the first repeat winner of the DCRP season at Friday night’s Driver & Fan Appreciation Night that is highlighted by the Back-to-Front Challenge presented by Lewis Auto Group that could result in a lucky fan pocketing an extra $10,000.

General admission to Friday’s festivities that include numerous giveaways throughout the night to both fans and drivers is just $12, although those with tickets from drivers can gain admittance for just $5.

To cap the evening off, if a selected driver can race from the 20th starting position in his feature event to take the win then a lucky fan holding the winning ticket can win $10,000.

Friday’s racing action includes a full slate of championship chase action including Hambleton Racing DCRP Sprint Cars, IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sport Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars and IMCA Hobby Stocks.

And with the variety of winners thus far, each points race is still very much up for grabs.

Hambelton Racing Products DCRP Sprint Cars:

One of just two drivers to finish among the top ten in each of the three feature events including a runner-up finish last Saturday night, defending track champ Luke Cranston holds a 13-point advantage over Ray Seemann with opening night winner just another three points back in third.

Feature Winners: Brett Becker 1, Taylor Velasquez 1, Koby Walters 1.

Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Luke Cranston 415, 2. Ray Seemann 402, 3. Taylor Velasquez 399, 4. Jordan Knight 388, 5. Koby Walters 383, 6. Brian Herbert 353, 7. Kris Moore 340, 8. Tyler Knight 337, 9. Ross Essenburg 321, 10. Kohl Ricke 299.

IMCA Modifieds:

With a July 2 win among top-tens each time out, Kale Beavers holds a slim 9-point lead over Trent Gray.  Gray has reeled off three consecutive top-five finishes to begin the year.

Feature Winners: Kale Beavers 1, Clay Sellard 1, Dakota Sproul 1.

Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Kale Beavers 414, 2. Trent Gray 405, 3. David Solberg 393, 4. Dakota Sproul 391, 5. Joel Lane 384, 6. Danny Keller 373, 7. Nick Link 268, 8. William Nusser 265, 9. Ryan Heger 254, 10. Jack Kirchoff 244.

IMCA Sport Modifieds: 

A mere 14 points separates the top four in Sport Mod points with Luke Stallbaumer holding the current edge by seven markers over Mike Lunow with multi-time track champ Jeff Kaup just ten points off the lead pace.

Feature Winners:  Brett Berry 1, Brandon Kenny 1, Luke Stallbaumer 1.

Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Luke Stallbaumer 413, 2. Mike Lunow 406, 3. Jeff Kaup 403, 4. Kamren Gruber 399, 5. Brian May 369, 6. Kyle Wiens 363, 7. Ryan Kirchoff 355, 8. Brendon Nordyke 350, 9. Mike Appel 345, 10. Monte Nordyke 339.

IMCA Stock Cars:

Troy Burkhart salvaged a sixth-place finish in last weekend’s Stock Car Shootout to maintain an 18-point lead over the duo of Gregg Schell and Chris Oliver who are tied for second.

Feature Winners: Troy Burkhart 1, Jeff Kaup 1, Gregg Schell 1.

Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Troy Burkhart 427, 2. (tie) Gregg Schell and Chris Oliver 409, 4. Jeff Kaup 406, 5. Marlin Hogie 389, 6. Ondre Rexford 387, 7. Anthony Finch 384, 8. Jesse Smith 348, 9. Michael Pepper 273, 10. Tyler Walker 232.

IMCA Hobby Stocks:

Tathan Burkhart rounds out the father-son duo of point leaders as the younger Burkhart’s lead is at an identical 18-point margin, this one over Duane Wahrman.

Feature Winners: Brady Bencken 1, Tathan Burkhart 1, Trevor Schmidt 1.

Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Tathan Burkhart 436, 2. Duane Wahrman 418, 3. Dion Priddy 391, 4. Brett Copeland 390, 5. Skeets Salazar 387, 6. Keith Carr 354, 7. Garrett Hager 274, 8. Brooke Russell 255, 9. Chad Kelley 250, 10. (tie) Brady Bencken and Trevor Schmidt 150.

Friday’s racing action gets under way at 7:30 p.m.

In total, the 2020 season atop the 3/8-mile Dodge City Raceway Park clay oval is slated for a dozen nights of action along with another six Sunday cards atop the 1/7-mile Little DCRP clay oval.

Detailed schedule information is available at https://www.dodgecityraceway.com/schedule/.

Dodge City Raceway Park is located on the south edge of Dodge City, KS, on US 283, then 0.9 miles west on US 56, then 0.1 miles south.  For more information, contact the track at 620-225-3277 or check www.dodgecityraceway.com.