May 29, 2024

2021 Kansas Shrine Bowl Rosters Released

(Courtesy of the Kansas Shrine Bowl)

The Kansas Shrine Bowl Board of Directors would like to announce the East and West teams for the 2021 Kansas Shrine Bowl. These players have been invited to participate in the 48th Annual Kansas Shrine Bowl to be played at Gowans Stadium in Hutchinson, Kansas on Saturday, June 26th at 7 p.m.

The 2021 Head Coaches, as selected by votes from the 2020 coaching staff, trainers, managers, and camp directors, are DeSoto’s Brian King for the East and Norton’s Lucas Melvin, leading the West.

Players are selected each year by a combination of media votes and selections from the Kansas Shrine Bowl Coaching Staff. Players must be nominated by their high school coach or athletic director. The players selected to the 2021 Kansas Shrine Bowl join the just over 3,000 players who have participated in the annual event since 1974.

“We are very excited about the great group of young men selected for this year’s game,” said B.J. Harris, Executive Director of the Kansas Shrine Bowl. “These players and coaches now have an incredible opportunity ahead of them, one that is sure to have a lasting impact in their life.”

“This is a very talented group of kids,” said East Head Coach Brian King. “Getting the roster down to thirty-six was tough, there are a lot of special players out there. I’m impressed by this group and I’m excited to get to work with them.”

“There are so many great players out here in the West,” said West Head Coach Lucas Melvin. “I feel like we have tremendous talent at every position. I don’t think they’re just talented players, but great young men and I’m excited to get to work with them.”

The Assistant coaches for the East team are 6A Assistant, Steve Rampy (Lawrence); 5A Assistant, Anthony Orrick (Blue Valley Southwest); 4A Assistant, Rod Stallbaumer (Basehor-Linwood); 3A Assistant, Brooks Barta (Holton); 2A Assistant, Andrew Gantenbein (Osage City), 1A Assistant, Chirs Schmidt (Olpe). The East coaching staff had a combined record of 57-16 in 2020, including a State Champion with Olpe.

Assistant coaches for the West team are 6A Assistant, Randall Zimmerman (Junction City); 5A Assistant, Mike Vernon (Hutchinson); 4A Assistant, Jon Wiemers (Arkansas City); 3A Assistant, Troy Black (Wichita Collegiate); 2A Assistant, Zach Baird (Hoisington); 1A Assistant, Jeff Hennick (Oakley). The West Coaching staff had a combined 59-20 record in 2020, with three State Runner-Up finishes.


Name School Class
Ethan Abell Oakley 1A
Nic Allen Riley County 3A
Shadryon Blanka St. Francis 8M-II
Julius Bolden Wichita Northwest 5A
Noah Bolticoff Rose Hill 4A
Carter Brown Inman 1A
Tanner Cash Clearwater 3A
Spencer Davidson Minneapolis 2A
Trevor Erickson Chapman 3A
Kenny Fehrman Wellington 4A
Jayden Garrison Little River 8M-I
Doug Grider Halstead 3A
Holt Hanzlick Hoisington 2A
Gaven Haselhorst Hays 5A
Christien Hawks Norton 2A
Jack Hawver Hutchinson 5A
Nick Herrman Wichita Collegiate 3A
Damian Ilalio Manhattan 6A
Jake Johnson Maize South 5A
Wetu Kalomo Wichita Northwest 5A
Koy Kenny Ulysses 4A
Andrew Khoury Junction City 6A
Isaiah Maikori Andover 5A
Trey Nuzum Garden City 6A
Harlan Obioha Hoxie 8M-I
Oz Perez Holcomb 3A
Ben Purvis Bishop Carroll 5A
Jacob Rees Andover Central 4A
Darby Roper Haven 2A
Josh Sanders Maize 5A
Maximus Shannon Ark City 4A
Jake Shope Goddard 5A
Ty Sides Phillipsburg 2A
Ethan Stulsatz Kapaun Mt. Carmel 5A
Lem Wash Derby 6A
Cayden Winter Andale 3A


Name School Class
Tanner Bacus Parsons 3A
Jordan Barnard Olpe 1A
Malik Benson Lansing 4A
Danny Carroll St. Thomas Aquinas 5A
Leo Clennan BV Northwest 6A
Max Close SM South 6A
Tristen Everard BV Southwest 5A
Ma’rrell Fountain Olathe Eest 6A
Denver Gardner Spring Hill 5A
Tyler Gerety Nemaha Central 2A
Jacob Hartman Mill Valley 5A
Austin Holthaus Centralia 1A
Darell Jones Coffeyville 4A
Canon Karn Holton 3A
Miles Kitselman Lyndon 1A
Ethan Kremer Mill Valley 5A
Branden Martin Tonganoxie 4A
Jackson Miller De Soto 5A
Mack Moeller Bishop Miege 4A
Cole Mondi Lawrence 6A
Caleb Murillo Columbus 3A
Clayton Power Blue Valley 6A
Desmond Purnell Topeka Hayden 3A
Bo Reeves Rossville 2A
Ethan Reynolds Gardner-Edgerton 6A
Hayden Robb Perry-Lecompton 3A
Drew Schmelzle Sabetha 3A
Andrew Schwinn Maur Hill-Mount Academy 2A
Carter Stanchfield Paola 4A
Isaac Stanton Basehor-Linwood 4A
Kolby Talbot Axtell 8M-II
Dane Whalen Osage City 2A
LaJames White St. James Academy 4A
Dee Wideman Girard 3A
Cameron Wise West Franklin 2A
Luke Zegunis Olathe West 6A