February 25, 2024

Andale rallies late to claim Class 4A title; five area wrestlers medal

Salina, Kan. (westernkansasnews.com)–It came down to the 126-pound match to determine the state championship in Class 4A. Andale would trail Chanute by under 9.5 points midway through the championship round. The Indians would pick up key wins, including a head to head with Chanute, and a win at 126 pounds to dethrone the Blue Comets for the team title. The wrestling at the Class 4A State Wrestling Tournament inside Tony’s Pizza Events Center in Salina.

Five wrestlers from southwest Kansas would come in to Salina, and all five would leave with medals. Scott City would place all three, led by Gabe Bowers with a second place finish at 285, Collin McDaniel was fourth at 120 and Zach Rohrbough was sixth at 132 pounds. Ulysses would medal their two wrestlers, as Quentin Pauda closes out his career as a three-time medalist, placing third at 120, and Justin Degollado was fifth at 170.

Andale edged out Chanute for the tournament title, which is their first since 2012, and defending champion Chanute was second, and Tonganoxie was third as a team. Scott City finished in 13th as a team and Ulysses tied for 20th.

Team Scores
Andale 115.5, Chanute 113, Tonganoxie 82.5, Fort Scott 76, Holton 58, Augusta 55, Rose Hill 51.5, Colby 48, Frontenac 47.5, Pratt 41, Mulvane 38, Ottawa 37, Scott City 33, Louisburg 30, Coffeyville 29, Abilene 28, Eudora 26, Perry-Lecompton 25, Buhler 23.5, Concordia 22, Ulysses 22, Clay Center 20, Larned 18, Wamego 13, Burlington 11, Winfield 10, Baldwin 8, Topeka-Hayden 4, Columbus 0, Anderson County 0, Goodland 0, Independence 0, Paola 0, Bishop Miege 0, Rock Creek 0, El Dorado -1

Top Six Placers
Championship: Marcus Terry, Augusta, won by dec voer Braden Tatum, Rose Hill, 3-2
3rd Place: Colton Miller, Andale, won by dec over Jasper Allison, Fort Scott, 5-0
5th Place: Kaeden McCarty, Cobly, won by fall over Tucker Gilliland, Holton, 3:36

Championship: Tucker Cell, Abilene, won by fall over Kolton Misener, Chanute, 1:06
3rd Place: Braeden Moore, Tonganoxie, won by inj def over Cannon Carey, Augusta
5th Place: Dalton Weber, Pratt, won by inj def over Aiden Cook, Colby

Championship: Owen Eck, Andale, won by dec over Trent Clements, Chanute, 4-0
3rd Place: Quentin Pauda, Ulysses, won by dec over Collin McDaneil, Scott City, 10-3
5th Place: Jake Barnes, Holton, won by dec over Grady Fox, Augusta, 7-4

Quentin Pauda, Ulysses

Collin McDaniel, Scott City

Championship: Hector Serratos, Andale, won by dec over Devon Weber, Pratt, 3-1
3rd Place: Grayson Sonntag, Tonganoxie, won by dec over Braden Ledford, Winfield, 8-4
5th Place: Trey Dillow, Chanute, won by dec over Tucker Wark, Colby, 7-1

Championship: Coby Burchett, Fort Scott, won by fall over Chadwick Stahl, Mulvane, 5:51
3rd Place: Cade Holtzen, Louisburg, won by dec over AJ Furnish, Andale, 7-2
5th Place: Kaiser Pelland, Pratt, won by dec over Zach Rohrbough, Scott City, 7-5

Zach Rohrbough, Scott City

Championship: Cael Lynch, Eudora, won by dec voer Colton Seely, Chanute, 8-4
3rd Place: Collin Creach, Ottawa, won by dec over Tyler Voss, Colby, 3-1
5th Place: Trent Moses, Mulvane, won by maj dec over Braden Wilson, Abilene, 10-0

Championship: Ty Leedy, Chanute, won by dec over Dawson Lappin, Frontenac, 5-3
3rd Place: Derek Duffett, Tonganoxie, won by fall over Keegen Beavers, Rose Hill, 2:39
5th Place: Holden Andrews, Eudora, won by dec over Talyn Pfizenmaier, Clay Center, 6-4 SV-1

Championship: Jacob Stinnett, Fort Scott, won by dec over Gabriel Bailey, Tonganoxie, 3-1
3rd Place: Ian Aouad, Andale, won by dec over Jayden Fletcher, Holton, 8-3
5th Place: Peyton Besco, Rose Hill, won by dec over Tucker Jackson, Clay Center, 6-1

Championship: Sam Elliott, Buhler, won by dec over Samajay Alboyd, Larned, 10-4
3rd Place: Thad Metcalfe, Perry-Lecompton, won by dec over Damon Hoback, Burlington, 10-6
5th Place:  Wyatt Tubbs, Colby, won by dec over Chris Dietrich, Mulvane, 12-6

Championship: Malachi Vann, Fort Scott, Won by dec over Justice Compton, Frontenac, 7-5
3rd Place: Kael Lane, Ottawa, won by dec over Garrett Davis, Augusta, 4-2 SV-1
5th Place: Bryce Winsor, Pratt, won by dec over Keyan Miller, Concordia, 6-4 SV-1

Championship: Brayden Dillow, Chanute, won by dec over Hunter Schroeder, Concordia, 3-2
3rd Place: Hayden Oviatt, Wamego, won by dec over Dylan Ensch, Frontenac, 9-2
5th Place: Justin Degollado, Ulysses, won by fall over Ethan Camp, Coffeyville, 2:07

Justin Degollado, Ulysses

Championship: Konnor Tannahill, Holton, won by dec over Branden Martin, Tonganoxie, 4-2
3rd Place: Tommy Rogers, Rose Hill, won by fall over Jared Ferguson, Ottawa, 2:42
5th Place: Riley Marx, Andale, won by maj dec over Jacob Money, Augusta, 13-3

Championship: Cayden Winter, Andale, won by dec over Alec Younggren, Louisburg, 9-5
3rd Place: Keegen McDonald, Clay Center, won by dec over Dalton Roush, Holton, 3-1
5th Place: Toby Thomas, Baldwin, won by fall over Clayton Stephenson, Topeka-Hayden, 2:06

Championship: Brady White, Coffeyville, won by dec over Gabe Bowers, Scott City, 4-3 UTB
3rd Place: Nathan Cunningham, Chanute, won by dec over Declan Ryan, Colby, 1-0
5th Place: Hayden Robb, Perry-Lecompton, won by fall over Hunter Scott, Mulvane, 3:46

Gabe Bowers, Scott City

Scott City Coach Aaron Dirks