June 12, 2024

Andale wins McPherson sub-state, five area wrestlers advance to Salina

McPherson, Kan. (westernkansasnews.com)–In a normal year, the top 16 wrestlers in the state are considered state qualifiers. On Saturday, McPherson was the site of the Class 4A Sub-State Tournament that saw its fair share of surprises. The top four wrestlers in each weight class advanced to Salina for the state tournament next Saturday.

From the area, five wrestlers would punch their ticket to Salina. Scott City pushed three through with Collin McDaniel, Zach Rohrbough and Gabe Bowers. Ulysses qualified two with Quentin Pauda and Justin Degollado. Bowers would be the lone sub-state champion, avenging a three-match losing streak to Colby’s Declan Ryan in the finals, while Quentin Pauda would finish second for the Tigers.

Andale won the tournament, while Colby was second and Augusta was third. Scott City placed seventh as a team, and Ulysses tied for 11th.

Andale swept the individual awards, as Hector Serratos was voted Outstanding Wrestler for the sub-state, and Coach Doug Eck was named the sub-state Coach of the Year.

The Class 4A State Tournament will be on Saturday, February 27, at the Tony’s Pizza Event Center in Salina.

Team Scores
Andale 158, Colby, 105, Augusta 91.5, Pratt 90, Rose Hill 90, Mulvane 65, Scott City 59, Abilene 57, Clay Center 53, Concordia 48, Ulysses 31, Wamego 31, El Dorado 30, Buhler 26, Goodland 26, Larned 22, Rock Creek 20, Winfield 15, Hesston 6, Nickerson 6, Chapman 5, Wellington 4, Hugoton 0, McPherson 0, Circle 0, Wichita Trinity 0

Top Four Results
Championship: Marcus Terry, Augusta, won by fall over Braden Tatum, Rose Hill, 4:48
3rd: Colton Miller, Andale, won by dec over Kaeden McCarty, Colby, 2-0

Championship: Tucker Cell, Abilene, won by fall over Cannon Carey, Augusta, 1:06
3rd: Dalton Weber, Pratt, won by dec over Aiden Cook, Colby, 5-4

Championship: Owen Eck, Andale, won by maj dec over Quentin Pauda, Ulysses, 10-2
3rd: Grady Fox, Augusta, won by dec over Collin McDaniel, Scott City, 6-4 SV-1

Quentin Pauda, Ulysses

Collin McDaniel, Scott City

Championship: Hector Serratos, Andale, won by dec over Devon Weber, Pratt, 5-3
3rd: Braden Ledford, Winfield, won by dec over Tucker Wark, Colby, 5-0

Championship: AJ Furnish, Andale, won by dec over Chadwick Stahl, Mulvane, 10-7
3rd: Zach Rohrbough, Scott City, won by dec over Kaiser Pelland, Pratt, 4-3

Zach Rohrbough, Scott City

Championship: Tyler Voss, Colby, won by dec over Keishaune Thompson, Pratt, 7-2
3rd: Trent Moses, Mulvane, won by fall over Braden Wilson, Abilene, 2:49

Championship: Keegan Beavers, Rose Hill, won by maj dec over Talyn Pfizenmaier, Clay Center, 10-1
3rd: Jonah Meyer, Andale, won by dec over Drew Brown, Wamego, 6-3

Championship: Ian Aouad, Andale, won by dec over Tucker Jackson, Clay Center, 7-3
3rd: Peyton Besco, Rose Hill, won by maj dec voer Gabe Krug, El Dorado, 8-0

Championship: Sam Elliott, Buhler, won by fall over Samajay Alboyd, Larned, 3:56
3rd: Chris Dietrich, Mulvane, won by dec over Wyatt Tubbs, Colby, 4-2 SV-1

Championship: Garrett Davis, Augusta, won by maj dec over Drew Burenheide, Rock Creek, 10-2
3rd: Keyan Miller, Concordia, won by dec over Bryce Winsor, Pratt, 5-4

Championship: Hunter Schroeder, Concordia, won by dec over Hayden Oviatt, Wamego, 6-4
3rd: Justin Degollado, Ulysses, won by dec over Iziah Cook, Pratt, 5-3

Justin Degollado, Ulysses

Championship: Tommy Rogers, Rose Hill, won by fall over Nick Rehmer, Colby, 1:56
3rd: Jacob Money, Augusta, won by dec over Riley Marx, Andale, 6-1

Championship: Cayden Winter, Andale, won by fall over Keegan McDonald, Clay Center, 5:40
3rd: Collin Scott, El Dorado, won by inj def over Dexter Dautel, Goodland

Championship: Gabe Bowers, Scott City, won by fall over Declan Ryan, Colby, 2:45
3rd: Hunter Scott, Mulvane, won by dec over Brandon Parker, Abilene, 6-1

Gabe Bowers, Scott City