June 12, 2024

Scott City finishes third at Ulysses regional, several qualify for sub-state

Ulysses, Kan. (westernkansasnews.com)–It would be a long, but competitive day of wrestling on Friday, as teams from the Pratt and Scott City district made their way to Ulysses for the Class 4A Regional Tournament.

Andale would dominate the day, as they would finish with 203 points, while Pratt was second with 150. Scott City placed third as a team with 128, while Colby was fourth with 123.5.

The Indians would win eight weight classes, and qualify 10 wrestlers for sub-state, while Pratt qualified 10 total wrestlers. Scott City will send nine to sub-state, Colby seven, and Goodland six. Ulysses qualified four for sub-state and Hugoton will send a wrestler to the next round.

The Ulysses Regional is paired with the Circle Regional, and they will face off on Saturday, February 20 in McPherson for Sub-State. The top four wrestlers in each weight class will advance on to the state tournament in Salina. 

Team Scores
Andale 203, Pratt 150, Scott City 128, Colby 123.5, Goodland 96, Ulysses 65.5, Buhler 45, Larned 42, Nickerson 34, Hesston 26, Hugoton 14, Holcomb 13, Wichita Trinity 9, Clearwater 7

Top Four Placers
1st: Colton Miller, Andale, won by maj dec over Kaeden McCarty, Colby, 10-2
3rd: Evan Fry, Scott City, won by fall over Maddox Riffey, Pratt, :42
1st: Dalton Weber, Pratt, won by dec over DJ Knox, Goodland, 10-4
3rd: Aiden Cook, Colby, won by maj dec over Ayden Presson, Scott City, 9-1
1st: Owen Eck, Andale, won by dec over Quentin Pauda, Ulysses, 7-3
3rd: Collin McDaniel, Scott City, won by dec over Gavin Moore, Nickerson, 8-2
1st: Hector Serratos, Andale, won by dec over Devon Weber, Pratt, 4-3
3rd: Jonathan Lara, Ulysses, won by dec over Tucker Wark, Colby, 3-1 SV-1
1st: AJ Furnish, Andale, won by dec over Kaiser Pelland, Pratt, 6-2
3rd: Zach Rohrbough, Scott City, won by fall over Gatlin Hoch, Larned, 1:43
1st: Tyler Voss, Colby, won by dec over Keishaune Thompson, Pratt, 4-0
3rd: Koby Salas, Ulysses, won by dec over Kelby Eck, Andale, 7-2
1st: Mason Hernandez, Goodland, won by dec over Jonah Meyer, Andale, 4-2
3rd: Adam Mendoza, Hugoton, won by fall over Connor Armendariz, Scott City, 2:44
1st: Ian Aouad, Andale, won by fall over Hogan Thompson, Pratt, 3:26
3rd: Kyan Ensign, Goodland, won by fall over Cooper McCloy, Buhler, 1:18
1st: Sam Elliott, Buhler, won by dec over Samajay Alboyd, Larned, 7-3
3rd: Wyatt Tubbs, Colby, won by dec over Kale Wheeler, Scott City, 2-0
1st: Elijah Aouad, Andale, won by dec over Lance Miller, Scott City, 7-5
3rd: Bryce Winsor, Pratt, won by dec over Gantzen Miller, Goodland, 4-2
1st: Iziah Cook, Pratt, won by fall over Jeffrey Nix, Scott City, 3:04
3rd: Justin Degollado, Ulysses, won by fall over Isaiah Shinette, Goodland, 2:14
1st: Riley Marx, Andale, won by fall over Owen O’Halloran, Hesston, :57
3rd: Nick Rehmer, Colby, won by fall over Jess Hancock, Wichita Trinity, 2:53
1st: Cayden Winter, Andale, won by fall over Michael Schneider, Nickerson, 3:23
3rd: Dexter Dautel, Goodland, won by dec over Carter Atteberry, Larned, 7-6
1st: Declan Ryan, Colby, won by fall over Gabe Bowers, Scott City, 7:48
3rd: Drake Van Scoyoc, Pratt, won by fal over Caleb Duell, Goodland, 4:20