February 22, 2024

Scott City shares district title with Colby

Scott City, Kan. (westernkansasnews.com)–In an unusual year thanks in part to Covid-19, wrestling saw its postseason format change significantly across Kansas. Saturday started off what will begin a four-week journey through the postseason, as district tournaments kicked off in Class 4A, as well as Class 3-2-1A. In Scott City, it would be a tournament of seven teams represented at the Scott Community Events Center, as the top four wrestlers in each weight class would advance on to regionals.

It came down to the very end, as Colby and Scott City would share the district title with 183 points, while Goodland was in third and Ulysses in fourth.

The Beavers would see three wrestlers win district titles, as Zach Rohrbough took the 132-pound weight class, Lance Miller won at 170 and taking the 182-pound division was Jeffrey Nix. Ulysses saw Quentin Pauda win the 120-pound weight class.

Winning the District Wrestler of the Year would be Larned’s Samajay Alboyd at 160, and Scott City coach Aaron Dirks was voted the District Coach of the Year.

The Class 4A Regional tournament will take place on Friday, February 12 at 3 pm in Ulysses. The Scott City district is paired with the Pratt district this year.

Team Scores
Colby 183, Scott City 183, Goodland 149, Ulysses 128.5, Larned 110, Holcomb 48, Hugoton 29

Top Four Finishers
106 (Three-man Round Robin)
1. Kaeden McCarty, Colby; 2. Evan Fry, Scott City; 3. Jameson Smith, Larned

1st: DJ Knox, Goodland, won by dec over Aiden Cook, Colby, 3-1
3rd: Ayden Presson, Scott City, won by dec over Kobe Chavez, Ulysses, 14-13

120 (Three-man Round Robin)
1. Quentin Pauda, Ulysses; 2. Collin McDaniel, Scott City; 3. Octavio Gonzalez, Goodland

Quentin Pauda, Ulysses

1st: Tucker Wark, Colby, won by dec over Jonathan Lara, Ulysses, 5-4
3rd: Greg Martinez, Holcomb, by fall over Corbin Weers, Larned, 2:11

1st: Zach Rohrbough, Scott City, won by fall over Gavin Hoch, Larned, 1:19
3rd: Chris Harris, Holcomb, won by dec over Conner Lanning, Colby, 13-7

Zach Rohrbough, Scott City

1st: Tyler Voss, Colby, won by fall over Koby Salas, Ulysses, 2:57
3rd: Houston Frank, Scott City, won by fall over Jason Colby, Goodland, :40

1st: Mason Hernandez, Goodland, won by dec over Adam Mendoza, Hugoton, 4-2
3rd: Connor Armendariz, Scott City, won by fall over Jacob Colglazier, Larned, :53

1st: Kyan Ensign, Goodland, won by fall over Thomas Dennis, Colby, 2:43
3rd: Edgar Ramirez, Holcomb, won by fall over Kaleb Jaquez, Ulysses, 5:25

1st: Samajay Alboyd, Larned, won by dec over Wyatt Tubbs, Colby, 4-2
3rd: Roman Garcia, Ulysses, won by dec over Kale Wheeler, Scott City, 4-3

1st: Lance Miller, Scott City, won by dec over Josh Kramer, Larned, 10-4
3rd: Gantzen Miller, Goodland, won by forfeit over Adolfo Mendoza, Ulysses

Lance Miller, Scott City

1st: Jeffrey Nix, Scott City, won by dec over Isaiah Shinette, Goodland, 10-3
3rd: Justin Degollado, Ulysses, won by fall over Kolby Johnson, Holcomb, :35

Jeffrey Nix, Scott City

195 (Three-man Round Robin)
1. Nick Rehmer, Colby; 2. Alonso Frances, Scott City; 3. Moises Rodriguez, Ulysses

1st: Dexter Dautel, Goodland, won by dec over Carter Atteberry, Larned, 7-6
3rd: Jace Bonsall, Hugoton, won by dec over Tyler Rehmer, Colby, 5-3

1st: Declan Ryan, Colby, won by dec over Gabe Bowers, Scott City, 3-1 UTB
3rd: Caleb Duell, Goodland, won by dec over Robert Villezcas, Ulysses, 8-4