February 29, 2024

K-State Athletic Director Gene Taylor chosen to represent Big 12 on CFP selection committee.


        The skipper of Kansas State athletics has found himself as a member of the group who decides the postseason fate of Kansas State football.

            Kansas State Athletic director Gene Taylor will be replacing Texas AD Chris Del Conte on the College Football Playoff selection committee. Kellis Robinett of the Kansas City Star and Wichita Eagle was the 1st to break the story.

            The move comes after the University of Texas and Oklahoma University’s decision to leave the Big 12 for the SEC or Southeastern Conference. Texas remaining as the Big 12 representative for the committee was seen as a conflict of interest with Texas’s looming move to the SEC.

            Taylor will help the committee select the top 25 rankings in the second half of the season, he will also decide which 4 teams get to compete for a championship in the college football playoff. Also, Taylor will help to schedule the bowl games including the New Year’s 6 bowl games.

            The College Football Selection Committee has 13 members and is made up of Athletic Directors, former coaches, former players, and even a professor. The members are, Arizona State professor Paola Boivin, Kentucky AD Mitch Barnhart, Georgia State AD Charlie Cobb, Wyoming AD Tom Burman, North Carolina State AD Boo Corrigan, Colorado AD Rick George, former Nebraska football player Will Shields, Virginia Union VP for athletics Joe Taylor, former Penn State star John Urschel, former coach Tyrone Willingham and former Notre Dame athlete Rod West.

            The remaining members of the Big 12 will have to decide whether to add new teams or for the remaining members to seek new conferences of their own. Whatever the decision K-State athletics will be heavily impacted by the changes. 

Link to Kellis Robinett’s original story