June 23, 2024

Scott City wins Abilene Invitational

Abilene, Kan. (westernkansasnews.com)–In their final matches before the break, the Scott City wrestling team made their way to Abilene on Saturday for the annual Abilene Invitational. It would be beneficial for the Beavers, as they saw some Class 4A competition, as well as wrestling in the same gym they were assigned to for Class 4A Regional wrestling in February.

Scott City not only won their second straight tournament, but they also eclipsed the 200-point mark for a second straight week, finishing with 218 points, while Phillipsburg was second with 141 and Abilene was third with 136.5.

The Beavers fielded a full team for the first time this year, and it paid off. They picked up two tournament champions in Collin McDaniel at 126 and Zach Rohrbough at 145. There were several second place finishers, but the biggest surprise came from 12o-pound wrestler Ayden Presson. Presson upset the defending Class 3-2-1A Champion in the semi-finals in bracket competition, and made his way to the finals, where he dropped his final match of the day.

Team Scores
Scott City 218; Phillipsburg 141; Abilene 136.5; Pratt 129.5; Silver Lake 123; Salina Central 118.5; McPherson 99; Marysville 92.5; Santa Fe Trail 86.5; Girard 47

Individual Results
106 (Round Robin)
1. Blake Slavin, Santa Fe Trail; 2. Waylon Ricker Scott City; 3. Tayven Wilson, Marysville; 4. Drew Schnweis, Salina Central

113 (Round Robin)
1. Jase Adam, Salina Central; 2. Evan Fry, Scott City; 3. Patrick Driggs, Phillipsburg; 4. Cody Black, Santa Fe Trail

Championship: Christopher McClanahan, Abilene, won by fall over Ayden Presson, Scott City, 3:16
3rd Place: Gable Fredrickson, Marysville, won by dec over Kaden Sisson, Phillipsburg, 8-4

Championship: Collin McDaniel, Scott City, won by fall over Hunter Sisson, Phillipsburg, :35
3rd Place: Treyton Pelnar, McPherson, won by dec over Joseph Welsh, Abilene, 7-0

Collin McDaniel

Championship: Tucker Cell, Abilene, won by fall over Taye Wilson, Pratt, 1:17
3rd Place: Lorenzo Cruzen, McPHerson, won by DQ over Carsen Meitl, Phillipsburg

Championship: Javin Welsh, Abilene; won by fall over Justin Rakestraw, Silver Lake, :57
3rd Place: Kai Burton Marysville, won by fall over Cole Keeten, Phillipsburg, :32

Championship: Zach Rohrbough, Scott City, won by fall over Braden Wilson, Abilene, :40
3rd Place: Collin Pearson, McPherson, won by medical forfeit over Koda Dipman, Pratt

Zach Rohrbough

Championship: Elix Hernandez, Salina Central, won by dec over Keishaune Thompson, Pratt, 6-2
3rd Place: Chase Root, Silver Lake, won by dec over Houston Frank, Scott City, 3-0

Championship: Ke’Rel Thompson, Pratt, won by fall over Tristan Randles, Abilene, 3:05
3rd Place: Kevin Russell, Phillipsburg, won by dec over Skylar Lockard, McPherson, 15-13

Championship: Daigan Kruger, Silver Lake, won by fall over Isaac Hook, Santa Fe Trail, 2:00
3rd Place: Julian Castro, Salina Central, won by dec over Alonso Frances, Scott City, 5-2

Championship: Triston VandeVelde, Silver Lake, won by dec over Kale Wheeler, Scott City, 9-5
3rd Place: Trace Hanchett, Phillipsburg, won by fall over Dalton Slaughter, Pratt, 3:20

195 (Round Robin)
1. Beau Wassenberg, Marysville; 2. Brady Welker, Scott City; 3. Tyrus Young, Salina Central; 4. Caden Burris, McPherson

Championship: Brock Buresh, Phillipsburg, won by fall over Brannon Rageth, Salina Central, :42
3rd Place: Juandre Walton, won by dec over Arrick Williams, Girard, 3-2

285 (Round Robin)
1. Drake Van Scoyoc, Pratt; 2. Josh Jacobson, Scott City; 3. Conner Mcvicker, McPherson; 4. Garrison Craig, Marysville