June 21, 2024

Scott City has four champions in Norton

Norton, Kan. (westernkansasnews.com)–Schools from three states made their way to Norton on Saturday for the annual J. R. Durham Invitational. The competitive field saw newcomer team North Platte take the team title on the boys, while the Norton girls won their home meet. 

Cozad, Nebraska was second, holding off Scott City who placed third, and Weld Central, Colorado came in a distant fourth. 

The Beavers would get three individual champions. Collin McDaniel at 126, Zach Rohrbough at 145 and Kale Wheeler at 182 took individual titles. Rohrbough was named the tournament’s most outstanding wrestler. 

Over on the girls side, Norton won, while Colby was second and Russell came in third. Scott City had an individual champion, as MacKayla Miller won the 235-pound weight class. The Lady Beavers finished seventh. 

Kaydawn Haag from Ellis was voted the girls Most Outstanding Wrestler of the tournament.

Team Scores
North Platte, NE 185.5; Cozad, NE 148.5; Scott City 138; Weld Central, CO 73; Norton 67.5; Atwood 66; Beloit 65; Smith Center 62; Oberlin 45; Russell 41; Oakley 35.5; Stockton 10; TMP-Marian 4; St. Francis 4

Top Four Placers
Championship: Aaron Wilson, Cozad, won by dec over Waylon Ricker, Scott City, 7-3
3rd Place: Brody Pitner, North Platte, won by maj dec over Will Tucker, Smith Center, 14-2
Championship: Carter Krier, Oakley, won by tech fall over Gus Hanson, Atwood, 16-0
3rd Place: Kole Weigel, North Platte, won by dec over Josh Juenemann, Oberlin, 7-5
Championship: Roberto Estrada, Weld Central, won by maj dec over Jace Kennel, North Platte, 12-1
3rd Place: Ayden Presson, Scott City, won by fall over Ryan Sramek, Atwood, 0:36
Championship: Collin McDaniel, Scott City won by fall over Conner Cosand, Beloit, 1:06
3rd Place: Tyson Smith, North Platte, won by fall over Nate Haggart, Cozad, 1:28

Collin McDaniel, Scott City

Championship: Kolton Field, Norton, won by tech fall over Ethan Jackson, North Platte, 18-2
3rd Place: Kooper Pohl, Cozad, won by fall over Owen Reininger, Weld Central, 3:49
Championship: Bentley Montgomery, Smith Center, won by fall over Lukas Zodrow, Oberlin, 4:57
3rd Place: Lathen Huntsman, North Platte, won by dec over Alex Rodriguez, Scott City, 8-6
Championship:  Zach Rohrbough, Scott City, won by maj dec over Reece Grafel, Oberlin, 10-0
3rd Place: Ryan Fox, North Platte, won by dec over Dreu White, Cozad, 8-1

Zach Rohrbough, Scott City

Championship: Hayden Russman, Cozad, won by dec over Drew Withington, Atwood, 6-4
3rd Place: Haedyn Brauer, North Platte, won by fall over Caden Anderson, Beloit, 3:48
Championship: Brock Malcom, Cozad, won by fall over Teagan Pfeifer, Russell
3rd Place: Jacob Irwin, Scott City, won by fall over Jace Hartman, Stockton, 2:04
Championship:  Isaac White, Cozad, won by maj dec over Tate Kadel, Beloit, 10-0
3rd Place: Brock Roblee, North Plate, won by dec over Garrett Urban, Norton, 8-3
182 (Round Robin)
1. Kale Wheeler, Scott City; 2. Luke Rathjen, North Platte; 3. Lane Wright, Cozad; 4. Logan Willour, Norton

Kale Wheeler, Scott City

Championship: Zayne Stam, Weld Central, won by dec over Tyler Moresco, Russell, 1-0
3rd Place: Luke Franklin, Smith Center, won by dec over Eli Boryca, Cozad, 7-5
Championship: Vincent Genatone, North Platte, won by fall over Braden Burks, Beloit 1:12
3rd Place: Preston Bearley, Atwood, won by fall over Eli Franklin, Smith Center, 4:52
Championship: Kane Fobare, Weld Central, won by fall over Trysten Terry, North Platte, 3:13
3rd Place: Corbin Puga, Norton, won by fall over Ivan Jirak, Oakley, 4:52

Team Scores
Norton 62, Colby 46, Russell 45, Ellis 42, Stockton 37, Phillipsburg 34, Scott City 32, Atwood 29, Oakley 28, Southwest, NE 20, McCook, NE 19, TMP-Marian 0

Top Four Placers
1. Paige Witt, McCook
Championship: Citori Bosserman, Oakley, won by fall over Ellianna Velardes, Phillipsburg 1:07
3rd Place: Natalie Simmons, Norton, won by fall over Jennifer Cunningham, Ellis, 0:58
Championship: Ashlyn Hahn, Stockton, won by dec over Sabrina Todd, Norton, 7-4
3rd Place: Kathie Chavez, Colby, won by fall over Kaleigh McFee, Atwood, 1:51
120 (Round Robin)
1. Tionna Napue, Russell, 2.  Isabella Keesee, Phillipsburg, Ambie Custard, Southwest, 4. Brooklynn Gossman, Scott City
Championship: Jaden Ney, Russell, won by fall over Amanda Jaeger, Colby, 1:43
3rd Place: Maleah Vine, Ellis, won by fall over Kaitlyn Tallent, Norton, 1:57
Championship: Kaydawn Haag, Ellis, won by fall over Xavia Breen, Atwood, 0:24
3rd Place: Ashlyn Pazdernik, Scott City, won by fall over Gwyneth Davis, McCook, 0:35
155 (Round Robin)
1. Makayla Pate, McCook, 2. Jordis Shaw, Scott City, 3. Noleigh Stephens,  McCook
170 (Round Robin)
1. Ashlynn Latimer, Southwest; 2. Atavia Cain, Oakley; 3. Libbi Puga, Norton
191 (Round Robin)
1. Kenya Goss, Norton, 2. Tessa Hill, Colby Girls; 3. Raven Long, Stockton; 4. Rivver Long, Stockton
1. MacKayla Miller, Scott City, 2. Emma Belleau, Norton

MacKayla Miller, Scott City