Lakin girls wrestling regional runner-up; ten area wrestlers qualify for state

Colby, Kan. (–Saturday saw the first weekend of regional wrestling competition, as the girls took the mat inside Colby High School at the Class 4-1A Regional Tournament. The tournament was made up of 28 schools, who had at least one wrestler in the competition.

Hoisington qualified six wrestlers for state, and won the tournament by 43 points over Lakin, who qualified four wrestlers for state. Colby was third with three wrestlers placing in the top four. Cimarron and Scott City qualified two for state, & Holcomb and Ulysses qualified one wrestler.

There were four regional champions from southwest Kansas. Lakin saw Josiah Ortiz at 109 and Isabell Ortiz at 115 win regional titles, Ulysses’ Maya Tarbet won the 120-pound weight class and at 235, MacKayla Miller from Scott City was a regional champion.

There were Co-Regional Outstanding Wrestlers, as Lakin’s Isabell Ortiz and Hoxie’s Marissa Porsch won the award, while Hoisington head coach Dan Schmidt was named the Regional Coach of the Year. 

State Qualifiers will make their way to Salina for the Class 4-1A State Wrestling Tournament on Wednesday & Thursday, February 23-24. It will be the first year that the state tournament for the girls will be a two-day tournament. 

Team Scores
Hoisington 109; Lakin 66; Colby 50; Ellis 46; Oakley 44; Goodland 43; Clay Center 42; Norton 40; Cimarron 36; Chapman 35; Scott City 35; Abilene 32; Plainville 32; Russell 28; Ulysses 26; Stockton 25; Rawlins County 24; Holcomb 20; Hoxie 20; Phillipsburg 19; Ellsworth 16; TMP-Marian 14; Trego 10; Ellinwood 8; Ell-Saline 4; Concordia 4; Hugoton 4; Larned 2

State Qualifiers
Championship: Sheena Gocela, Hoisington, won by maj dec over Veronica Greene, Cimarron, 18-5
3rd Place: Abbigail Heifner, Ellis, won by fall over Luna Vazquez, Lakin, 2:35
Veronica Greene, Cimarron

Luna Vazquez, Lakin

Championship: Josiah Ortiz, Lakin, won by fall over Citori Bosserman, Oakley,1:29
3rd Place: Alissa Cowing, Clay Center, won by fall over Rhiannon Cacavio, Goodland, 4:22
Josiah Ortiz, Lakin

Championship: Isabell Ortiz, Lakin, over Kathie Chavez, Colby, 7-1
3rd Place: Ashlyn Hahn, Stockton, won by fall over Sabrina Todd, Norton, 2:51
Isabell Ortiz, Lakin

Championship: Maya Tarbet, Ulysses, won by dec over Caxton Smyth, Plainville, 4-3
3rd Place: Isabella Keesee, Phillipsburg, won by dec over Kiana Grandclair, Hoisington, 8-1
Maya Tarbet, Ulysses


Championship: Gabi Koppes, Clay Center, won by fall over Amanda Jaeger, Colby, 3:11
3rd Place: Emily Lovett, Hoisington, won by fall over Kaitlyn Tallent, Norton, 0:54

Championship: Jaden Ney, Russell, won by fall over Daijah Jones, Hoisington,1:48
3rd Place: Maleah Vine, Ellis, won by fall over Ivy Davis, Lakin,1:45
Ivy Davis, Lakin

Championship: Marissa Porsch, Hoxie, over Tally Wikum, Hoisington, 9-4
3rd Place: Zoe Brown, Plainville, won by fall over Ashlyn Pazdernik, Scott City, 2:49
Ashlyn Pazdernik, Scott City

Championship: Kaydawn Haag, Ellis, won by fall over Xavia Brenn, Rawlins County, 1:26
3rd Place: Claudine Stein, TMP-Marian, won by fall over Gracyn Dombroski, Ellinwood, 1:18 

Championship: Destiny Gonzalez, Goodland, won by fall over Rian Rodriguez, Holcomb, 3:08
3rd Place: Madison Newton, Cimarron, won by fall over Lyrica Orosco, Hoisington, 0:48
Rian Rodriguez, Holcomb

Madison Newton, Cimarron

Championship: Grace Johns, Chapman, won by dec over Sierra Lanning, Ellsworth, 4-1
3rd Place: Atavia Cain, Oakley, won by fall over Libbi Puga, Norton, 3:33

Championship: Lyndsey Buechman, Abilene, won by fall over Tessa Hill, Colby, 0:50
3rd Place: Kenya Goss, Norton, won by fall over Raven Long, Stockton, 2:19

Championship: MacKayla Miller, Scott City, won by inj def over Chelsey Armbruster, Chapman
3rd Place: Jalyn McLean, Oakley, won by fall over Miranda Radenberg, Abilene, 0:18
MacKayla Miller, Scott City